1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nokia E65 and bluetooth working

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by a3kjorer, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. a3kjorer
    Offline

    a3kjorer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 19, 2008]
    1. Update the phone to the latest software - Connect your Nokia E65 to your pc using the usb-cable and update its software to the latest version, use Nokia PC Suite "Update phone software" and follow the instructions.
    2. Download Nokia 810 Contact Download Application for Nokia S60 3rd edition devices - http://europe.nokia.com/A4143881
    3. Use Nokia PC Suite "Install applications" and install the .SIS application on your phone.
    4. Delete the paired device to your car in your bluetooth setup on the phone if you have one.
    5. Go to your car with the phone and turn on the ignition and start the Nokia Contact download application - Menu - Installat. - Download, answer Yes and confirm every question, and then your contact list is downloaded to the car
    6. Finished - you can now see your contacts in the DIS, and you can use the MFSW to control and select person you want to call.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. CJP80
    Offline

    CJP80 987C

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 19, 2008]
    F$%king Awesome....thanks alot matey!

    Was this a question or just you being courteous?
    #2
  4. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Jan 19, 2008]
    Great post, very helpful! Which ones the E65?
    #3
  5. CJP80
    Offline

    CJP80 987C

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Can't get this to work?

    The Nokia website does not include the E65 in it's compatibility list either?
    #4
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    It doesn't include the N73 or N95 either, but they both work ok with the same setup.
    #5
  7. a3kjorer
    Offline

    a3kjorer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Try this if the above does not work;
    Shut down the engine and remove the key from the ignition.
    Delete the paired bluetooth connection in your phone to the car.
    Turn OFF bluetooth on your phone.
    Turn on the cars ignition.
    Start the Nokia application once more - let it enable bluetooth, enter the cars PIN code, accept the car connection - let it sync with the car.

    Does that help?

    (Remember to authorize the cars bluetooth paired connection in your phone after everything is finished and ready)
    BTW: I don't have RNS-E, I only have the phone prep in the armrest and the bluetooth that comes with it.
    #6
  8. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    A quick question, how did you update the software in your phone module of the A3?

    Did you update the module with a disk or online

    Or did you replace the module with a Q version?
    #7
  9. a3kjorer
    Offline

    a3kjorer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    I'm sorry, my car is brand new, got it this week, produced and finished week 52, haven't changed or touched the car's software, only my phone.


    A3 2.0 TDI (140) DSG S-line with a bunch of extras....
    #8
  10. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Sorry I misread your first line, of course all new cars come with the "Q" module installed.

    Anyone else will have to have their phone module swapped out for the new Q version.
    #9
  11. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Craig how much warranty comes with you install BT in an A3. 1 place installs it for £499 but offers 3 years warranty.
    #10
  12. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    I offer 12 months warranty which is the parts warranty. But of course I'm £100 cheaper than the other price. Just as a point of interest, I've probably installed around 400 phone preps now and I have only had to replace 1 faulty module due to a genuine fault.
    #11
  13. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Craig

    Alot of the new phones inc Sony Ericssons (k850) are not showing the missed/dialled/received calls on the RNS-E screen. Is this because the bluetooth module in my car is old and not compatible, if so will a new version sort this problem as its a bit annoying having to search the phonebook every time I want to make a call!
    #12
  14. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Thats excellent craig, thankyou very much!
    #13
  15. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    No it will not, the Q module will only show the phonebook too.

    #14
  16. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    I'll be using you anyway craig, not to worry, sorry I didn't phone you back the other day, I was a little busy. Did you know theres a company in london that makes a bracket so an A4 RNS-E fits in a Mk1 TT now......

    [​IMG]
    #15
  17. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Yep I was aware of it, it is actually a company in Germany that make the bracket, these guys in London just sell it.
    #16
  18. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Do you have their details? The climate control unit needs to be moved doesn't it?
    #17
  19. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    No, I just saw it it in a post once about the company, sorry it was about 6 months back.
    #18
  20. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Alrite thanks. This london comany is doing the installation in my cousins TT for £499 including the bracket, which isn't bad!
    #19
  21. CJP80
    Offline

    CJP80 987C

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    I got my car in March 07. Am I to assume that it will not have the Q module and thus this upgrade will not work?
    #20
  22. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 20, 2008]
    Probably have a K module
    #21

Share This Page