1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

no start!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by gembot, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. gembot
    Offline

    gembot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2012]
    i need to fix an a3 '99 its done about 98,000 & has not yet done its annual service but has had a clutch change, days after i had noticed that a wire was coming out of the sensor that leads to the coil (no 1 of 4), that has now been amended. Now the car wont start it was having trouble starting before but there was spark coming out of plugs so i managed to get it to start but now there is no spark i have changed the plugs & the coil but yet no luck, it does crank doh but after abit the oil light comes on, i haven't plugged it into a diagnostic reader yet, im running out of ideas i would like it fixed as soon as, so if any could help me i would b very great full.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,282
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Nov 6, 2012]
    Knackered coil pack wiring?
    #2
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,988
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    [Nov 6, 2012]
    Crank sensor maybe... scan for fault codes first...

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  5. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,265
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Nov 6, 2012]
    You really need some fault codes first, as they go a long way and can save you huge amouts of time and money :)
    #4
  6. Lewis583
    Offline

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Nov 6, 2012]
    As said sounds like Crankshaft Position sensor issue, but a diag scan is the best place to start. When it is plugged into a diag machine, call up the actual values/measuring blocks and watch engine speed when turning over. Should give a reading <500rpm-ish when cranking
    #5
  7. gembot
    Offline

    gembot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2012]
    #6
  8. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,864
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Nov 21, 2012]
    clear them all off
    then try to start and rescan

    but im gona go with the G40 sensor is your problem
    #7
  9. gembot
    Offline

    gembot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2012]
    that was the 1st fing i did bro, i fout it wud b that g40 also coz thats what people was saying but the only code that was left was the speed sensor code IMG00325-20121117-1243.jpg


    so is it that or?
    #8

Share This Page