1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

no spark on 3rd plug

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by a3stu, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. a3stu
    Offline

    a3stu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    hi i have tryed swapping coil packs and plugs over but still stays on number 3 pot no spark and running on three any ideas ?
    just started today :confused:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. PaulRS3
    Offline

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    if its doesnt swap with changing coil packs, then it could be

    knackered spark plug.
    wiring loom problem to coil pack.

    some cars have another powerpack to feed the coils. IIRC Richa3turbo had one go faulty and needed a replacement, but this is only on some models.
    #2
  4. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    the control module for firing is on top of the airbox if its like the a6, it is likely this it is basically a few logic switches in there and one contact is burnt out, replace. try changing sparkplugs first though
    #3
  5. PaulRS3
    Offline

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    cheers Dummi.

    I think some cars (bolt down coils??? ) got this controller and cars without dont?

    dont quote me on it, but i seem to remember that not all cars had them, maybe Rich can elaborate.
    #4
  6. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    thats correct PaulS3, the controller purely tell the individual coils to fire, which most likely on an A3
    #5
  7. PaulRS3
    Offline

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    I mean the early A3/S3's had bolt down coils with controller

    the later A3/S3 have different push fit coils (the troublesome ones) , its these models i dont think had the extra controller.
    #6
  8. a3stu
    Offline

    a3stu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2006]
    hi it was the amp
    on the airbox cost me 80 old quid
    sorted that out and yes it was on the airbox
    :blownose:
    #7

Share This Page