1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No sound from pc speakers??

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by james0808, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 18, 2008]
    I dont know what has happened but i dont get any sound when watching youtube or the start up noise or that noise you usually get when you empty your recycle bin but i can hear sound when playing stuff through windows media player so im guessing its a setting or something,anyone know what i can do???:banghead:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 21, 2008]
    My Computer, Control Panel, Sound and Audio Devices,....under Sounds

    and check there

    You can slo check check under Audio for the input devices.
    #2
  4. rich32uk
    Offline

    rich32uk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2008]
    Not sure if you've sorted this by I've been having the same problems. It seems that one of the versions of macromedia flash deletes a file called wavemapper from the windows registry; I understand that this manages all your internet sounds.

    All you need to do is to open registry editor by going to Start menu, Run, type regedit and then Enter. After that, in the registry editor, walk yourself through the tree in the left hand pane, untill you reach

    My Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32

    Then on the right pane, right click and click on New, select String value, enter "wavemapper" (without quotes of course), ENTER, then right click on the new file "wavemapper", press modify and type "msacm32.drv" in the box that says value data and press enter.

    No need to reboot, it should work straight away.

    I got this information from the adobe forum. There seems to be loads of different solutions but the one above worked for me.

    http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webfor...id=184&threadid=1252570&enterthread=y#4517539
    #3
  5. rich32uk
    Offline

    rich32uk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2008]
    I am assuming that your on XP and not Vista? I can't vouch whether this works for the latter
    #4
  6. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 17, 2008]
    Thanks alot rich32uk.:icon_thumright:
    I just reran my windows disc and they worked again.
    #5

Share This Page