1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Radio + No Brake lights?!?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by RIGZI, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2010]
    Hey Guys, i'm hoping someone has experienced the same thing... My head unit stopped working last night but the back light is still on (when ignition is of also) and i've just had a toot off a friendly road user to say my brake lights aren't working?? is it a coincidence that the 2 are linked...
    Does any have any solutions?

    Appreciated :)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
  4. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 7, 2010]
    well thats not very nice is it :

    hope you get it sorted, as Dave said, fuses, vagcom first ports of call
    #3
  5. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Sep 7, 2010]
    It's got to be fuses really hasn't it let's be honest. At the very least, it's the first place to look.
    #4
  6. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2010]
    Cheers for the replies
    First thing i checked when i pulled up at work were the fuses, i only had time to check the obvious ones which were all fine...
    look like i'm on the fog light switch on the way home haha
    Theres no fault codes come up on the liquid, next step vagcom...
    Don't suppose anybody can help in the Warrington Area?
    Check me... all take take take hahah
    I'll make it worth your while if anyone can help ;)
    #5
  7. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Likes Received:
    403
    [Sep 7, 2010]
    Have you done anything electrical on the car, stereo, mods, lighting anything that would cause a short, any water leaking in or anything??

    As for making it worthwhile, i hope you aint offering a friendly 'toot' :sex:
    #6
  8. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2010]
    Ha, no friendly toots offered!

    Nope, no electrical mods.
    #7
  9. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Sep 7, 2010]
    Pm'd
    #8
  10. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2010]
    After a bit of diagnostics expertise from Sandip, a hard reset (disconnect battery) which sorted the head unit, the conclusion of a knackered brake light seems to be the culprit... must of been co-incidence that tied the two together...
    So a big thankyou Sandip, for the little time we had to natter i learned a few tricks for the S3...
    cheers
    #9
  11. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Sep 9, 2010]
    Anytime time bud, give us an update once you replace the brake light switch:)
    #10
  12. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 9, 2010]
    you dont need to change the brake light switch if its a post Y plate car....simple repair ;)
    #11
  13. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Sep 9, 2010]
    It's only £8 for a new switch Tim lol
    #12
  14. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 9, 2010]
    haha ive never priced one cos the facelift one repairs so easily :)

    all you do is flip the lid thing off, take the spring out then get the pliers and twist the inner barrel around approx 5mm
    #13
  15. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    Nice one Tim, I'll gi that a go in the morning... tried sourcing a new switch from ECP to no avail!
    #14
  16. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    Yeah i had a look too lol They're out of stock:(
    #15
  17. J1 MBO
    Offline

    J1 MBO Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 21, 2010]
    Hope you don't mind me latching on to this thread!

    I have jsut got my A3 back from the garage (for a fan motor replacement) only to realise that all of my brake lights weren't working!! This seems to have now turned into an intermittant problem now, but still a potentially dangerous situation!! I am not a pro yet when it comes to my A3 (new to the VAG) - does this sound like the same problem RIGZI? If so, where is the switch that needs replacing - if its a simple replacement I don't want to pay the garage lol!?!

    Thanks in advance.
    #16
  18. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 21, 2010]
    Follow this Instructions link and try resetting the switch... take off the cover under the steering column (6 torx bolts and a few clips hold it on) the switch is easy to get to...
    i bought this switch off ebay because mine was worn...
    ebay switch
    #17
  19. J1 MBO
    Offline

    J1 MBO Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 21, 2010]
    Thanks for the rapid info!

    But sorry, forgot to mention that mine is a 1999 A3 1.6 Sport - are these instructions still valid? And, forgive me for proving myself as a complete Audi novice, but I couldn't see that the instructions tell you where the switch is in the first place?!!?
    #18
  20. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 21, 2010]
    the switch is on the brake pedal bracket... i don't if it'll be the same mate... do an ebay search that's how i found the correct one for mine.
    #19

Share This Page