1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Power to Aftermarket HU

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by andyam, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Oct 4, 2012]
    Hi Guys,

    I have an Audi a3 8p 56 Plate, non quad lock, half amplified, running a tape deck chorus, with a 6 cd changer.

    I have removed that, and tried to install a Alpine IDA X305 with bluetooth.

    I have purchased a Connects 2, CTSAD003 cable, and a PC5-52.

    However there is no power! Any ideas?

    Plugged my old stereo back in and works fine. I have checked all the fuses, and all working order.

    Please help, its been about a week of driving in traffic in silence, and its driving me insane!

    Thanks in advance

    Andy
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 4, 2012]
    All aftermarket HU's need 2 12v power feeds.
    1. Perm live to keep the memory functions
    2. Switched live to tell the HU to turn on with the ignition

    Newer Audi's only have a single permanent live and use the CANBUS to tell the HU when to switch on. No aftermarket HU's can use this method, so you either have to use a CANBUS emulator or connect both the feeds for the Alpine (the yellow and red wires) together and run them both from the permanent live. This means you will have to turn the HU on/off manually.
    #2
  4. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Oct 4, 2012]
    I Thought the CTSAD003 was tje canbus emulator? Or am i just being stupid?
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 4, 2012]
    I stand corrected, thought that was purely a steering wheel control adapter.
    Says it provides a switched live, so it should all work. Have you tested the new HU is getting both a permanent 12v on the yellow feed and a switched 12v on the red cable?
    #4

Share This Page