1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

no power on stereo after double din conversion

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by scottie123, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    :eyebrows:Right i completed my double din conversion last week, and i have been waiting for my quadlock converter lead to turn up.

    turn up yesterday, so i have plugged it in to the the new concert, but nothing is happening. No power to the stereo what so ever. checked the fuse onthe stereo, that seems ok.

    any body got any suggestions as i have spent nearly a week with no music in the car and i dont think i can handle it any longer!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    You'll also need +12v on the pin labelled DI-SENS. I think it's the next pin in the quadlock. That might sort it for you.
    #2
  4. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    cheers for your reply john

    were is the best place to get the 12v from.

    can it be stolen from another pin on the connecter or does it come some where else?
    #4
  6. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    bump 'cough'

    have the ideal oppurtunity to sort this out before the missus gets back from her stay in hospital.

    will make it easier that having to explain the ' i know i said it was just a simple job love and you would be able to use the stereo straight away but i have just got to.......'

    :jester:
    #5
  7. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    cough splutter
    #6
  8. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    #7
  9. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    now the only problem is to source another quadlock pin so i can add another wire to the block.

    or perhaps there is a pin that is used that i can snaffle.

    lets look and see what i can find..
    #8
  10. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    Quadlock pin would be audi part number 000 979 225 for a 2.5 mm repair wire.
    For the 12v feed, just loop the repair wire to +UB (+12v) which is the next pin. That's how it's wired from the factory.
    #9
  11. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    cant you borrow an un used connection (amp out?) wire in the short term? Cut n rewired.
    #10
  12. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    excellent cheers for that john

    i think i may have now fund a spare unused pin on the quad lock than i can remove and reuse.

    Strange thing is, it is the tel mute pin that is unused on my loom to my iso connectors


    #11
  13. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    dood you have read my mind lol!

    that were i have just been.

    out looking at the iso connectors and the quad lock comparing to see if a pin is un used.

    as yes there is one!

    :meeting:
    #12
  14. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    now i am going to try and see how reuseable these use once pins are..........

    prepare for the swearing!!
    #13
  15. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    Fingers crossed then......
    #14
  16. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    ok it is out and they can be reused with a bit of manipulation :)

    all soldered up so now going to see what happens.

    smoke or glory.......which will it be!!
    #15
  17. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2009]
    well it works!!!!

    i have lights and everything!!

    no i have 2 problems left

    1stly with the diversity adapter. I have the adapter 2 plug to the stereo will has 2 leads. 1 for the standard arial connector.no problem there. 2nd connector is a small metal straight plug (cylindrical) with a small connection inside. And i have a female plug which looks like this should go into. But it just wont stay in. am i missing the point.

    Oh and 2nd problem. When i bought the stereo, i was told by the seller that the radio code was written on the bottom of the radio. It is. The only problem being that the code should be 4 digits long and the one one the bottom of the radio is 6 :think:
    how many attempts do you get before it is locked for good?:sex:
    #16

Share This Page