1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No on-board computer? it seems blank also vibration at 70-8mph 6th gear

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by plasma, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    hi all, I have 2 issues with my 2006 A3 2.0 tdi SE, 6 speed manual

    1. The trip computer is blank. The only light appears is when a door is open and a small dim red light appears showing the door is open, at the centre of the screen. I also do not have the reset button on the bottom of the wiper stalk.

    2. There is vibration SOMETIMES when i'm travelling at round 70-80mph on 6th gear on the motorway. although I am not entirely sure if it's only if i'm on 6th gear. Have some vibration at stand still, on idle too.

    What gives?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. DriverN00B
    Offline

    DriverN00B Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Has the trip computer ever appeared? Is it possible you don't have the DIS? Have you bought the car recently?
    #2
  4. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    No, it has never appeared. Only time anything comes on it when a door is open and that small red light indicating a door is open, turns on. I only bought the car in December last year.

    Sorry, but what does DIS stand for?
    #3
  5. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Driver Information System I think.

    Is it possible to have the DIS cluster but no stalk?

    A picture of the cluster might help?
    #4
  6. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    I will try to get a picture of my cluster and stalk this afternoon during my lunch break. But I have seen on other forums, that apparently there is a reset button on the wiper stalker for the DIS. I have no such button on mine.
    #5
  7. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    I think we've had this before - not all of the later cars (and poss some earlier ones) have DIS, looks like yours is one.
    #6
  8. Nilz
    Online

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,249
    Likes Received:
    402
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    If you dont have the button, its likely that you do not have the DIS on your car.

    There is a button on the bottom of the stalk that switches it on and off.
    #7
  9. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    This is a 8P stalk with DIS
    [​IMG]
    #8
  10. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Pretty crazy to think a premium hatchback doesn't come with DIS! I mean my car even has cruise control!
    #9
  11. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    No I definately do not have that reset button on mine. :(
    #10
  12. A3Kent
    Online

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Did you not check when buying? It's fairly obvious when you've got no information coming up on the little screen in the cluster.

    You can have it retrofitted I believe. I thinks it's just a new stalk and some VCDS coding. Speak to NHN
    #11
  13. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    I had a quick browse on ebay. The wiper stalk with the reset button (same ones used on VW and skoda too) is only around £10-£20.

    What would be the approximate cost for the coding?
    #12
  14. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Beer tokens if you find a local member with VCDS who's willing to do it.
    #13
  15. A3Kent
    Online

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Drop NHN a PM mate or have a look at the VCDS map and see who's local to you who has VCDS.
    #14
  16. DriverN00B
    Offline

    DriverN00B Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    I think there's more involved than just getting the stalk and doing the coding, here's a link to another forum NHN posted on with regards to it, should give you an idea of what's needed.

    Retrofitting DIS to A3 2008 SE
    #15
  17. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Defo more that just VCDS coding im afraid. I have all the tools and access to second hand red or white type desel clocks should NHN be unable to help.
    #16
  18. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Are you sure?
    Everything I've read says VCDS is all you need.
    #17
  19. SJ
    Offline

    SJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    The little red door open warning is a good indication that the cluster doesn't have dis. A closer look at the center display panel will let you see the outlines of all the other static warning lights that are there, if you can see those then it's definitely a new cluster required if you want to have dis.
    #18
  20. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Thanks for the info. So essentially if I see the outlines, I need an entirely new cluster? I thought if I cannot see the outlines then I would definately need a new cluster?
    #19
  21. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Just spoke to NHN and as my car already has cruise control, then DIS is possible and I would not need to change the cluster. All I need is the wiper stalker. Anyone has a part number for this?
    #20
  22. SJ
    Offline

    SJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    That's correct, I'll try and attach an image of a basic cluster with no dis. On that cluster when the warning lights are off you can still just about make out where the warning lights are.

    This is as opposed to the clusters with dis where these lights are not there but are instead displayed on a LCD display, hence when its off it appears completely black.
    #21
  23. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    My warning lights are all on the cluster (next to the rpm dial) not that centre screen that shows the door open sign.
    #22
  24. SJ
    Offline

    SJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    Sounds promising. Here's a non dis cluster with all the lights illuminated to make them nice and obvious. You'd be able to see the outline of all the warning lights in the center as you can for the ones by the dials. If you can't see any there then you should be able to enable dis to some extent by just coding :) uploadfromtaptalk1392303155402.jpg
    #23
  25. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    I was assuming a non dis dash, and new cluster needed. If in fact the dash is a dis, then vcds will do the job.
    #24
    ScottD3 likes this.
  26. plasma
    Online

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2014]
    So all I need is the correct wiper stalker and the coding right? Can anyone please provide me with the part number? or a link? thanks
    #25
  27. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    [Feb 14, 2014]
    Not at the moment but if you ebay it there seems to be some on there.
    #26
  28. DriverN00B
    Offline

    DriverN00B Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Feb 14, 2014]
    Plasma does your current dash look like the one posted above by SJ?
    #27

Share This Page