1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No on-board computer? it seems blank also vibration at 70-8mph 6th gear

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by plasma, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    hi all, I have 2 issues with my 2006 A3 2.0 tdi SE, 6 speed manual

    1. The trip computer is blank. The only light appears is when a door is open and a small dim red light appears showing the door is open, at the centre of the screen. I also do not have the reset button on the bottom of the wiper stalk.

    2. There is vibration SOMETIMES when i'm travelling at round 70-80mph on 6th gear on the motorway. although I am not entirely sure if it's only if i'm on 6th gear. Have some vibration at stand still, on idle too.

    What gives?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. DriverN00B

    DriverN00B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    34
    Has the trip computer ever appeared? Is it possible you don't have the DIS? Have you bought the car recently?
     
  4. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    No, it has never appeared. Only time anything comes on it when a door is open and that small red light indicating a door is open, turns on. I only bought the car in December last year.

    Sorry, but what does DIS stand for?
     
  5. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Driver Information System I think.

    Is it possible to have the DIS cluster but no stalk?

    A picture of the cluster might help?
     
  6. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    I will try to get a picture of my cluster and stalk this afternoon during my lunch break. But I have seen on other forums, that apparently there is a reset button on the wiper stalker for the DIS. I have no such button on mine.
     
  7. JohnE

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    40
    I think we've had this before - not all of the later cars (and poss some earlier ones) have DIS, looks like yours is one.
     
  8. Nilz

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)
    Team Silver Audi S3 Audi Sport Owner Group

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,121
    Likes Received:
    776
    If you dont have the button, its likely that you do not have the DIS on your car.

    There is a button on the bottom of the stalk that switches it on and off.
     
  9. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    This is a 8P stalk with DIS
    [​IMG]
     
  10. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    Pretty crazy to think a premium hatchback doesn't come with DIS! I mean my car even has cruise control!
     
  11. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    No I definately do not have that reset button on mine. :(
     
  12. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A3 TDi

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    245
    Did you not check when buying? It's fairly obvious when you've got no information coming up on the little screen in the cluster.

    You can have it retrofitted I believe. I thinks it's just a new stalk and some VCDS coding. Speak to NHN
     
  13. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    I had a quick browse on ebay. The wiper stalk with the reset button (same ones used on VW and skoda too) is only around £10-£20.

    What would be the approximate cost for the coding?
     
  14. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Beer tokens if you find a local member with VCDS who's willing to do it.
     
  15. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A3 TDi

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    245
    Drop NHN a PM mate or have a look at the VCDS map and see who's local to you who has VCDS.
     
  16. DriverN00B

    DriverN00B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    34
    I think there's more involved than just getting the stalk and doing the coding, here's a link to another forum NHN posted on with regards to it, should give you an idea of what's needed.

    Retrofitting DIS to A3 2008 SE
     
  17. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Defo more that just VCDS coding im afraid. I have all the tools and access to second hand red or white type desel clocks should NHN be unable to help.
     
  18. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Are you sure?
    Everything I've read says VCDS is all you need.
     
  19. SJ

    SJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    10
    The little red door open warning is a good indication that the cluster doesn't have dis. A closer look at the center display panel will let you see the outlines of all the other static warning lights that are there, if you can see those then it's definitely a new cluster required if you want to have dis.
     
  20. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks for the info. So essentially if I see the outlines, I need an entirely new cluster? I thought if I cannot see the outlines then I would definately need a new cluster?
     
  21. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just spoke to NHN and as my car already has cruise control, then DIS is possible and I would not need to change the cluster. All I need is the wiper stalker. Anyone has a part number for this?
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. SJ

    SJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    10
    That's correct, I'll try and attach an image of a basic cluster with no dis. On that cluster when the warning lights are off you can still just about make out where the warning lights are.

    This is as opposed to the clusters with dis where these lights are not there but are instead displayed on a LCD display, hence when its off it appears completely black.
     
  24. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    My warning lights are all on the cluster (next to the rpm dial) not that centre screen that shows the door open sign.
     
  25. SJ

    SJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sounds promising. Here's a non dis cluster with all the lights illuminated to make them nice and obvious. You'd be able to see the outline of all the warning lights in the center as you can for the ones by the dials. If you can't see any there then you should be able to enable dis to some extent by just coding :) uploadfromtaptalk1392303155402.jpg
     
  26. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    I was assuming a non dis dash, and new cluster needed. If in fact the dash is a dis, then vcds will do the job.
     
    ScottD3 likes this.
  27. plasma

    plasma Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    So all I need is the correct wiper stalker and the coding right? Can anyone please provide me with the part number? or a link? thanks
     
  28. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Not at the moment but if you ebay it there seems to be some on there.
     
  29. DriverN00B

    DriverN00B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    34
    Plasma does your current dash look like the one posted above by SJ?
     

Share This Page