1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No oil level sensor in sump agu

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Paddya3turbo, Jun 15, 2012.

  1. Paddya3turbo

    Paddya3turbo Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    How is this possible ??? It's just blank where it's supposed to go ??? And there's no plug anywhere that would go to it ???


    This explains my low oil pressure warning on the clocks lol
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,220
    Likes Received:
    2,405
    There is no level sensor on an AGU IIRC... the oil pressure is done from the pressure switch on the oil filter housing..

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10,553
    Likes Received:
    2,132
    Yup, as above. No level sensor on AGU. Only pressure.

    As a result, any dashboard oil warning on an agu is pressure.

    If you're driving around with an oil pressure warning, chances are its ****ed!
     
  5. Paddya3turbo

    Paddya3turbo Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    No it's not on while driving mate , only when key is turned to on after a minute it comes on but as soon as car is started it disappears ??
     
  6. Paddya3turbo

    Paddya3turbo Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just had my downpipe and exhaust put on and it sounds great , deffo feels more responsive with the tip fitted aswell , dare I say slightly faster lol !! Got my new thermostat fitted aswell and all for £30 with new coolant :)
     
    deeman88 likes this.
  7. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10,553
    Likes Received:
    2,132
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Strange.

    As long as it's not coming on whilst driving then that's good.

    Did you sort the gearbox issue?
     
  8. Paddya3turbo

    Paddya3turbo Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah mate ! There was nothing wrong with it lol ! A dodgy bit of metal that supports the filter had come loose and was stopping me engaging the 2 gears ! After a bit of rattling it came loose lol
     
  9. vfr800

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    49
    I had the sump replaced on my old A3 1.8T by a garage and they put a sump with an oil sensor in it because it was all they could source at the time.

    They replaced the oil pickup at the same time.
     

Share This Page