1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No number plate lights !

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Neil C, Dec 15, 2013.

  1. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Hi guys Your help / thoughts / ideas would be much appreciated. First one, then both, my number plate lights have stopped working. I have tried new bulbs, but no change ( bulbs tested & they are fine ). There doesn't seem to be any power at the two terminals in the tailgate, at least my tester didn't light up when connected to them. Suggestions please ? Ta.
     
    #1 Neil C, Dec 15, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2013
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Administrator Moderator TeamMisano TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter quattro Audi S3 s tronic

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23,648
    Likes Received:
    6,684
    Maybe a blown fuse?
     
  4. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Had thought of that too, but can't find a fuse allocated to the number plate lights. Is there one ?
     
  5. sliced

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    320
    are they led lights? Need to be the correct way round. Failing that, put in new bulbs, reset errors via vcds and they should work. or disconnect battery wait 10 minutes and reconnect if you dont have vcds.
     
  6. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    No, not LED, just standard 12v 5w 38mm festoon bulbs. Do they need to be a specific way around ?What are VCDs ?The dash showed no blown bulb when only 1 had packed up, but flashed a warning when the 2nd one stopped working.
     
  7. sliced

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    320
    hi mate, put in two new bulbs, leave the lights off and car off though, then discconect the battery for about 10 minutes the reconnect it. should clear the codes and work again.
     
  8. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Will give it a go. Thanks for all your help peeps.
     
  9. Rhyso

    Rhyso Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    203
    The contacts on the holders could be corroded. I had to replace the entire units on mine
     
  10. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Rhyso, do you mean the clear plastic part the bulb fits in, or the black bit that stays attached to the tailgate ? My local dealer mentioned replacing a unit for £10, but didn't say which bit.
     
  11. Rhyso

    Rhyso Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    203
    Its a complete unit held in with the most useless screw in the world!That price should be for the complete unit including new bulb. Make sure they order both sides as when i ordered mine the parts bloke was going to order two the same but they are different on each side!!
     
  12. Bagley-S3

    Bagley-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    7
    Haha they certainly are the most useless screws in the world!! :banghead:
     
  13. NKenny

    NKenny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mine just been in for MOT at local Indy garage, OS rear number plate light was out due to faulty/corroded connections. Garage cleaned it up and got it going FOC for time being. Apparently this is a common problem with VAG festoon type number plate lamps.
     
  14. G19rnt

    G19rnt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    6
    My 07 a3 is the same I've replaced the holders but still nothing I will try disconnecting the battery to see if this helps although I do know someone with vcds I really need to get them working again as the police seem to be out in force at the moment doing spot checks
     
  15. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Apparently the springy terminals on the bulb holders are notoriously difficult to line up with the connection points on the car, and that is why Audi just tend to replace the units.
    I was also told that disconnecting the battery won't help, and may affect engine management / key fob / one-touch windows.
    My first action is now going to be making certain that I have a 12v supply at the connection points.
     
  16. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Right, now I'm at a dead end with this.
    I have checked using a tester and there is continuity in the circuit. I've checked both the bulbs and the carriers, and they are all working fine. The problem seems to be a lack of current at the terminals that the units fit in to. All my other lights are perfectly OK though. I have removed the trim on the inside of the tailgate, and it's as clean as a whistle - no muck, no corrosion, nothing. I can't, however, seem to find any wiring that connects to the number plate light unit. everything seems to come from a central distributor, but nothing goes to the number plate lights. There is also no evidence that a wire has broken off.
    Help please !!
     
  17. sliced

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    320
    have u tried getting it cleared with vcds
     
  18. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Don't know where to get vcds clearing done. I presume a main dealer could do it, but would charge the earth for the privilege. Anyhow, up to now all the dealer has been interested in is selling me new light units.
     
  19. Chillout

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    48
    You could have broken wires to the boot from the car
     
  20. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    Independant Audi garage should do it, mine charge £20 for a scan on VCDS it would take a minute of two do and clear any faults.
     
  21. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    Right guys.
    Finally got the problem fixed.
    After checking all the wiring in the tailgate for breaks, and finding none, a live feed was routed directly to the unit that holds both the light units and the tailgate release handle. The lights both came on ( well after a bit of faffing with the terminals ). The feed was removed and both lights then came on with the sidelight switch. Da-daaa !
    Many thanks for all your help.
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. MrLapou

    MrLapou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    121
    ECU controller.... had a mind of its own....:banghead:
     
  24. Applianceman2010

    Applianceman2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi sorry I know this is an old post. But I have exactly the same fault. I've tried every solution out there with no luck. Inc. Vcds, whole strip replacement, checking wiring etc. I see in your final post you say you joined live feed into it. I'm assuming you took it from the brown tail light to the brown feed of the number plate, And then removed it afterwards? Is that correct (before I blow anything up! Lol)

    Thanks in advance DJ
     
  25. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    No, took the live feed direct from the battery.
    Good luck.
     
  26. S3 finatic

    S3 finatic Limp mode

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    Neil C do you recall which wire you connected to? There are 4, i believe it is the 3rd one but want to check before i blow anything..
     
  27. Neil C

    Neil C Active Member
    Audi A3 Team Brill Red TDi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    62
    It was a while ago, but I think the direct power feed was connected to the actual bulb terminal (with the light unit still attached to the car's wiring). Seemed to remind the car power feed what it was supposed to do.
     

Share This Page