1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Long Coding Helper Option

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by chris1988brown, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. chris1988brown
    Offline

    chris1988brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    I've recently bought my friends Vagcom cable. Having installed the software I am unable to get to some options that I want to (Gauge Sweep, Coming home lights, etc etc)

    The problem I am having is that all the guides tell me to go to 17-Instruments -> 07-Coding -> Long Coding Helper. The problem is in the coding section there is no option to select the long coding helper. I can access the long coding helper from the CAN Gateway module which is what is confusing me. Why is the long coding helper available in the CAN Gateway module but no others?

    Cheers
    chris

    Edit: Car is a 8P A3 2007 2.0 TDi S Line and the software is VAGCOM 11.11.3
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Have you used the long coding helper in the CAN gateway module?
    Is the software/cable original?
    #2
  4. chris1988brown
    Offline

    chris1988brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    hi, yes ive used it in the CAN gateway module

    yes i believe they both are
    #3
  5. JST_A3
    Offline

    JST_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Chris,

    As far as I know the Instruments don't use long coding for the 8P. As you have seen the CAN gateway along with the Central Electronics and Central Convenience are the only modules that use long coding.

    Where did you pick up the coding instructions from, and are you sure they are for the 8P? The VCDS details are here:

    Audi A3 (8P) Instrument Cluster - Ross-Tech Wiki

    Steve
    #4
  6. Chewy Norman
    Offline

    Chewy Norman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Does that mean you cant enable the gauge sweep on the 8P?
    #5
  7. chris1988brown
    Offline

    chris1988brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    hi Steve i got the coding instructions from Google however now i come to think of it i don't recall it stating it was for the 8p, as chewy Norman says, does this mean it cant be done on the 8P?

    chris
    #6
  8. JST_A3
    Offline

    JST_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Chris,

    The gauge sweep is standard for the S3, but I think this is hard coded into the instrument cluster rather than it being a setting change, so you could do this but would need to replace the clocks.

    Coming home on the other hand is possible, details here:

    VW Golf/Jetta/Bora (1K/5M) Tweaks - Ross-Tech Wiki

    Steve
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 19, 2012]
    Post a log of your car.
    #8

Share This Page