1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NO AWD after complete engine rebuild

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by gtronroids, Jul 4, 2013.

  1. gtronroids
    Offline

    gtronroids New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good evening everyone. I was hoping that someone may be able to shed some light on my 2000 APY S3 not having any AWD after a complete motor out rebuild.

    First thing I noticed is I was getting colossal wheel spin from the front wheels in every gear but the traction light was not lighting up like it used to (you know when it flickers and cuts power). If I push the ESP button the light will come on but still bags of wheel spin. What I am wondering is when the guys put the engine back in, is there a plug that they may have not connected, it just feels like something stupid has not been connected? Is there something in the gearbox that tells the car that it has another diff up the back and that it is suppose to activate?

    Things that I have checked:-
    1. VAGCOM check said brake light switch, REPLACED it and no difference.
    2. Cruise control still works
    3. ABS working as it should
    4. Earth strap connected and in good condition
    5. Fuse for HALDEX working
    6. I have ordered a replacement HALDEX filter and oil but it has not arrived yet
    7. I have not pulled out the HALDEX pump to test it yet as I am waiting for the oil to arrive
    8. Checked the pins to the HALDEX controller, no signs of breakages or corrosion.

    Is there anything else I should check or has anyone got any ideas as to what it could be. It is like the car doesn't know that it is a quattro.

    Cheers,
    Marty
    #1
  2. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    You have reconnected the DIFF ? :happy:
    #2
    phil miller likes this.
  3. slowcoach3
    Offline

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    93
    Its probably too simple but did you use a genuine brake light switch? I had the same problem once and stuck a gsf in, fault code cleared for a while but the fault persisted, stuck a proper one in and problem solved! Good luck though mate, any haldex problems are a PITA
    #3
  4. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,193
    Likes Received:
    870
    Fuse on top of the battery box.
    #4
  5. gtronroids
    Offline

    gtronroids New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was unaware of the fuse on the battery, I will check it. What has me stumped is the fact that the traction light does not come on at all when it is loosing traction. Where before the engine rebuild, if I drove over a wet grate it would flicker etc
    #5

Share This Page