Newbie :)

t33job

Reaction score
Hi guys

Im getting my A3 1.6 SPORT in a few days

Its this beuty

http://pistonheads.com/sales/1162834.htm

Firstly - Im getting the wheels done in the RS4 Titanium colour, im correct in thinking the code is 8AU arnt I?

Secodly - The service intervals, what are they? 50k, 70k, 90k? And when is the cambelt due?

Lastly - I personally think thats a bargain, 53 plate, 47,000 miles, and others on a 53 with 80,000 miles are up in £7500 territory

Anyway - Thanks :)

p.s - Im really confused with the 'version' of my car, its not the pre 03 shape, but its not the big mouth 03> version, Im confused :(

:sign_welcome:

You raise a very good point with your last question. Something I have been meaning to find out for a while, does anyone know what the proper chassis codes are for the 3 models within 8P??

EDIT: Perhaps there aren't any model codes but years. 03-05, 05-08, 08-

Last edited:
Yea, Im new to the whole A3/AUDI scene, but I cant figure out what my car is - Its the same shape (i think) to the wide mouth A3's, but its obviously not got the wide mouth :S

Its still beautiful though

Just need to know the service/cambelt dates mainly though :)

The cambelt is usually about 5 years or 60k, as your car is over 5 years old i would get it done asap as Audi wont cover you if i goes, as a guidline i recently bought a 2.0fsi sport which had 67k on the clock the previous owner had the car serviced by Audi regularly and the cambelt snapped on 59k Jan this year just over 5 years old and Audi didnt want to know so he spent nearly 2k on a new engine (lucky me) rather than rebuild the old head, you can get it done for between 210-329 i would also get the water pump done at the same time as it is only £30 extra and shouldnt cost any extra in labour,the last thing you want is a new cambelt kit on then months later replacing the waterpump in the same area :blackrs4:

Ah ok, I will have to have words with the owner about that..