Newbie polishing - autoglym Ultra Deep Shine , white residue after wash

Klickflip

Quattro 4 life
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie to polishing detailing but have read lots on forum .
Basicallly after decent lasting results without being too mental & costly about it all .

I snowfoamed and washed & dried with Demonfoam then clay bar'd . Not as much as I hought might came off on the clay bar though.
Then polished with Autoglym Ultra Deep shine. Looked pretty good.
But then next week I gave a wash only and as it dried there was white residue powder all over it .
I take it this the autoglym UDS wax/ coating element washing out and left drying? It wipes off easily.

I know having read much in this forum and others that UDS is not the best product , and as I found pretty hard elbow grease needed to use it by hand! But had bought in on buying the car , as it is phantom black thought this sounded good while in Halfords .. yes I have much to learn!

Also while claybarring I realised that my thought decent looking paintwork was actually pretty scratched all round With a few big deeper ones and loads of pitting & chipping on the front bumper . - the joys of a black car, and buying it on a drizzly day..

I also bought some G3 scratch polish, which I used on the worst scratches before the UDS. It reduced them slightly. But doing by hand I realise will take much more work and I probably want a electric polisher if I want to try to them get fully out , and would help with future polishing & waxing.

Having read up more something like poor boys black hole should be best.
Is there any dark wax / sealant that will fill the pitted marks and chips and any scratches ?

Any tips on doing a basic but reasonable job by hand to get the best out of a typical 6 year old phantom black car would be great :)

If you have white residue I suspect you used a bit too much polish. Less is more. No worries. Wash the car and once dry buff the white residue with a microfibre cloth.