1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie here - A4 v A4 Quattro

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by shaggy, Dec 4, 2007.

1. shaggy

shaggy New Member

Hi all,

Im looking at some 02 and 03 Audi A4 1.9 Tdi sport models and also some equivalent A4 Tdi Quattro's. How do these two compare and drive? Some people have told me the quattro's are expensive to maintain? Is this true? Anything else I should look out for? common faults? etc.
  2. Nickynibbles

Nickynibbles Damn it where's 7th gear when you need it?!

The Quattro will only be more expensive to maintain if you have differntial problems or high enough mileage to need an oil change. They basically handle a lot better, but you'll get a couple more mpg from a fwd version. Quattro's cost a little more to buy also, but have a "coolness" factor that makes it worthwhile! Ultimately it should depend on your plans, if your going motorway cruising then the fwd would be the best bet, it'll be cheaper to buy & more common. If your out in the country then the quattro would serve you well when the weather gets bad. Another consideration is if your planning to chip the car, the fwd will have more of a tendancy to wheelspin and kick in the traction control.

There's plenty of other advice ref the 1.9tdi so rather than just repeating things do a search and read the various threads as they all say much the same really!!
  3. phil1978

phil1978 Member

Well I think Nicky was spot on there . . . . :icon_thumright:

I also had this predicament on my last car . . .Drove both and the Quattro won hands down for me.
    I sacrificed the little extra on fuel as the car handled so much better and felt sure footed in all conditions. It never cost me anything other than servicing and an extra litre of oil every 10k miles.