1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie & bose question

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by domburg, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. domburg

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey,

    im new to this site as i only purchased my S3 on sunday and i am loving every second of it :racer:!!

    the car has the Bose sub & amp fitted but i noticed that its not working. is this common and what is usually the problem??

    i was going have a quick gander at the fuses but i couldn't seem to find the fuse box (pesky germans) :shrug:

    anybody got any ideas ?

    cheers, Dom
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. joshxs

    joshxs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    The fuse box is on the panel at the end of the dash, you need to open the drivers door to see it!
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    Is it the HU that isn't working or just that you get no sound from it?
     
  5. domburg

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replys guys, im not sure, how will i know if its the HU ? the cd changer is working so is the radio, theres just know sound coming from the sub, all the wires seem to be plugged in at the sub end, do i need specil keys (audi jobby or will halfords ones work?) to take the radio out to check the plugs on the radio?

    thanks, dom
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    So the HU is working, the cabin speakers are working, which means the Bose amp is working as all the speakers run off the seperate amp in the righthand cubbyhole. This means it isn't a HU problem, so no need to pull the HU.
    The sub has its own amp inside the tupperware enclosure. You need to check it has permanent live going to it, and remote on 12v when the HU is switched on. If these connections are OK then most likely it is the sub amp. I've played around with a few of these and quite often it's just a dry solder joint or bad connection to/from the amp. Unfortunately it's a pig to get to as you need to remove the whole sub enclosure. Let me know if you want instructions on how to remove it.
     
  7. domburg

    domburg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers for that info, i shall set to and investigate when i have a spare half an hour of daylight, ill keep you posted.

    thanks again, dom
     

Share This Page