Newbie A3 2.0tdi 170 Quattro performance issues

A_rockett

Reaction score
Hello guys! I'm new to world of Audi A3 cars just having mine now about 3 weeks. Gotta say I'm loving it! But I do have a few issues one of which I can't locate anywhere else in the forum. Basically the top end of my car, which is as the titles says 2.0tdi 170bhp Quattro, is none existant. I know because it's a Quattro it's heavier than the 2wd model but when it gets to 105-110 it's just like it hits a brickwall and it's not interested in putting out anything else. If anyone has any ideas I'd be very grateful. It's been in to my local garage and had a diagnostics, they said nothing flagged up. Occasionally aswell, accelerating hard in lower gears just as it gets over 2,000rpm it can occasionally misfire. Otherwise general day to day running it's fine, just seems to be missing a bit of performance somewhere. Hope you guys can help!

Adam

That puts your can into the 8P2 spec then as far as im aware, your engine is whats called a PD170 as apose to the newer 58 onwards 8P3 CR170. Our engines were fitted with weak injectors from new and Audi/VW did a recall on all 2.0TDi PD engines.

I would contact your nearest Audi and tell them your redge and see if its had the new injectors. This could have something to do with the "missfire"

As for top speed i am unsure as the 170 should be able to cruise at the speeds you say it flatens out at :/

Keep us posted regarding injectors, and if you send it in to Audi bare in mind they are giving you 1K+ of work for free so may try and tell you other stuff is broke. With me they said my glow plug was broke and i needed a new plug and wiring harness.

You need to eyes in the back of your head with main dealer.

Jonny.

Thank you Jonny for your responses. I have contacted Audi this week though and they told me my injector recall work had been completed at the beginning of 2012. As for the top end bit, maybe I'm just expecting to much out of it.