1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new turbo

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by skinz, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    just got myself a new turbo, my old 1 was a k03-005 but this 1 has got k03/29 on it, is this still ok for my car, its not 1 of them cheap ebay 1's is it, i got it from euro car parts, my car is a a4 1.8t N reg
    #1
  2. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    102
    Is it a genuine kkk ? I think the k03 029 is the b6 turbo iirc or they were were fitted to some b5's there's a thread somewhere on here.
    #2
  3. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    its only got 1 K in the triangle, seen something about it being the k03s which is a bit bigger than the ko3
    #3
  4. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    102
    You got a pic of the label where it says k03-029 ? Yeah it's the 190bhp B6 turbo of the bfb engine and I think some APU engines, I'm sure they never fitted a k03s to any b5 as you only find the k03s on the transverse cars i.e. golf tt s3 etc iirc
    #4
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Its not the 190hp turbo, its just a standard K03, but it is very slightly larger than the 005.

    It'll fit just fine and work just as your old one did.

    The K03S was only fitted to the 190hp B6 in longitudinal format, and its code is K03-073.
    #5
  6. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well it's all fitted now seems ok, it's got a loud whistle when I put my foot down but my old 1 didn't
    #6
  7. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    102
    Did you charge the turbo with oil correctly before running it up ??
    #7
  8. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
  9. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did a full oil change when I did the turbo and I prept the turbo with oil b4 I fitted it, I don't do it when it's ideling or when I rev it, only when I'm driving and I put my foot down a bit harder
    #9
  10. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds like the spool spinning, but didn't think it would b that loud
    #10
  11. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
    Boost is only generated when the engine is loaded. Just keep a listen out for change of sound
    #11
  12. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Check all the boost hoses, one might not be tight.
    #12
  13. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    ill have a look at the hoses again 2moro, theres not a lot to check really
    #13
  14. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    had a look an cant find any leaks, i read another thread an some said you should really change the oil feed lines when you change the turbo is this right
    #14
  15. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    102
    I'd really only change the feed and return lines if the turbo had been starved of oil or if it had sludge issues.
    #15
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    yeh i didnt bother changing mine. I just sprayed lots of brake cleaner thru it to clean out any deposits.
    #16
  17. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Every turbo we replace in the workshop we use a new feed pipe but as said probably just give it a flush out and should be alright.
    #17
  18. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Depends why its failed i guess.

    If the engines sludged up to its eyeballs then sure replace it, but if the wastegate penny fell off an otherwise working turbo theres no reason to expect the pipe to need changed.
    #18
  19. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    We change it regardless lol.
    #19
  20. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Thats because you work at a dealership and they like to rip people off ;)
    #20
    tangerinedream likes this.
  21. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Gotta make money some how considering 80% of the work being carried out is good will or warranty so we make F all on it.
    #21
  22. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    well i took the feed line off the turbo and turned the car over an the oil came out fine, i changed the oil but not the oil filter when i did the turbo, the oil came out really dark an sludgy is this cause i didnt change the filter, i didnt really want to change it cause ive got it booked in for a service in 2 wks an there gone do it for free. i spoke to a mate today an he said that it could be over boasting thats while it might b making that whistle noise, he said the best way to check is to get a boast gauge, dont i have to alter the accuator to change the boast, which means the turbos got to come out, if it is over boasting what do i need to do???
    #22
  23. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    The boost is controlled by the ECU so long as the pipework is correct.

    Its either a leak or a broken turbo if its whistling loudly.
    #23
  24. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    The turbo don't seem to b kicking in like my old turbo, my old turbo used to kick in at about 2000rpm where as the new 1 is about 4500rpm but still weak
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
    #24
  25. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    So what happens if I alter the actuator? Thought that altered the boost, with some boost gauges u get a boost control, how does that work if only the ecu controls the boost
    #25
  26. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    102
    I'd start by just pluming in a boost gauge and see what your actual boost is.

    You can't really adjust the boost unless you get the car mapped, you can do a mod to have it kick in a bit harsher, I personally don't believe in mbc's unless your using it just to prevent boost spikes. Also check your vac lines for the FPR and DV also check the condition of the DV as they are common for going I Replaced mine for a forge DV and when I removed the old one you could blow through it with little effort.
    #26
  27. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
    if you alter the prolad on the turbo, assuming it was holding fine before, all you will do is move the power slightly further up the band as it will take more movement of the actuator to release the flap. The boost is controlled by a calculation made by the ECU of load V airflow, not much you can do with trying to fool it
    #27
  28. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    skinz mate what was the part number you got i work at eurou's and can tell you if it ends in 1 your in trouble and the branch that sold it to you needs to be shot lol, we at cambridge dont sell them as they are a recon unit and are nothing but trouble!
    let us know mate
    #28
  29. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got a boost gauge this mornin, do I tap into the hose from the manifold to the dump valve, is dv the dump valve? What is fpr? The where is the part no. On the turbo, ur gonna tell me it's that long no. On the side of the thrbo
    #29
  30. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    i mean the euro part number on your invoice
    should be 71944----
    i plumbed a t piece into the vaccum line between inlet manifold - dumpvalve/recirc valve should be easy lol. fpr is fuel pressure regulator and you shouldnt be worrying about that yet i dont think . get that boost gauge plumbed in matey tells you everything tou need to know
    #30
  31. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thought I was gonna have to take my turbo out, the part no. Is 719440031
    #31
  32. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    What should it b boosting at on the boost gauge
    #32
  33. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,136
    Likes Received:
    183
    iirc FWD should be 7psi and Quattro 11psi. aragorn will be able to confirm as he's a bit of a smarty pants. lol
    #33
  34. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    102
    Quattro is 12-14 psi FWD is 6-7 psi mine is plumed in at the FPR as I didnt want the piping across the manifold it goes Straight of to the bung on the bulkhead then through the ecu box.
    #34
  35. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    My boost gauge 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2
    #35
  36. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    102
    That's in bar so should be just over 0.5 for FWD just under 1.0 for quattro.
    #36
  37. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    sweet cheers for your help, i'll get the boost gauge fitted in the morning an let you knowhow its going, not sure where im gonna put the gauge yet, where did u plum it into the FPR, some pics would help plz
    #37
  38. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    sweet cheers for your help, i'll get the boost gauge fitted in the morning an let you knowhow its going, not sure where im gonna put the gauge yet, where did u plum it into the FPR, some pics would help plz
    #38
  39. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
  40. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    really shouldnt try an type when im a bit muddy
    #40

Share This Page