1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to vagcom

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by thegoal007, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. thegoal007
    Offline

    thegoal007 Another S3 owner....

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Oct 15, 2009]
    I have dipped my toes , so to speak and purchased a cheapo cable with shareware 409us. At that small cost, it was worth having a go. I have borrowed an XP laptop.

    All seems to go fine - you obviously cannot do an auto-full scan because it prompts you to register the full version after 2 checks: engine and abs.
    So I did a "control-module finder". And it listed all the modules it could, which were (after a long time!) :-
    Address 01: Engine
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 8N0 906 018 BH
    Component: 1.8L R4/5VT 0001
    Coding: 10710
    Shop #: WSC 01236

    Address 03: ABS Brakes
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 8N0 907 379 E
    Component: ESP 20 CAN V005
    Coding: 18448
    Shop #: WSC 01236

    Address 08: Auto HVAC
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 8L0 820 043 H
    Component: A3 KLIMAAUTOMAT 0105
    Note: Excessive Comm Errors

    Skipping Address 15-Airbags

    Address 17: Instruments
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 8L0 920 980 R
    Component: KOMBI+WEGFAHRS. VDO D09
    Coding: 01444
    Shop #: WSC 00430

    Address 22: AWD
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 02D 900 554 C
    Component: HALDEX LSC ECC 0010

    Address 25: Immobilizer
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: Bit teA dre ss
    Component: e 17 eingeben

    Address 33: OBD-II
    Protocol: ????
    Controller: OBD-II/EOBD, Protocol Keyword: $0808

    Address 35: Centr. Locks
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 8D0 862 257 E
    Component: CV-Pump, Alarm, RC D17
    Coding: 15178
    Shop #: WSC 01236

    Address 45: Inter. Monitor
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 4B0 951 173
    Component: Innenraumueberw. D03
    Coding: 00001
    Shop #: WSC 00000

    Address 55: Xenon Range
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 4B0 907 357
    Component: LEUCHTWEITEREGLER D004
    Coding: 00014
    Shop #: WSC 01236

    Address 56: Radio
    Protocol: KW1281
    Controller: 8L0 035 152 B
    Component: chorus II GRO 0007
    Coding: 00202
    Shop #: WSC 01236

    Not sure what address 08 (Auto HVAC) is ? I am getting comm errors only on this. Also don't get the "Skipping Address 15-Airbags"

    So I am able to check for errors specifying each address. The only thing that showed up was:

    VAG-COM Version: Release 409.1-US

    Chassis Type: 8L - Audi A3/S3
    Scan: 01,02,03,08,15,17,22,35,37,45,54,55,56

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 01: Engine
    Controller: 8N0 906 018 BH
    Component: 1.8L R4/5VT 0001
    Coding: 10710
    Shop #: WSC 01236
    WAUZZZ8LX21019133 AUZ7Z0A2027907
    1 Fault Found:
    17963 - Charge Pressure: Maximum Limit Exceeded
    P1555 - 35-00 - -
    Readiness: 0000 0000

    Everywhere I have seen this error on forums all relate to people who have re-mapped ecu's. Mine is standard and has not. I don't notice any problems with the car. Audi last cleared all errors about 2 months ago, so this is fairly new.
    I have looked up the error on the ross-tech web site so there's a few bits of advice there.

    Looking forward to playing some more and now with the engine running.
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Oct 15, 2009]
    So you bought license from Ross-tech directly?

    Overboost error & HVAC is the climate control system
    #2
  4. thegoal007
    Offline

    thegoal007 Another S3 owner....

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Oct 15, 2009]
    yep, thanks for that. As I said I saw what the error was basically telling me - it may just be an intermittent fault. I will clear it and see when it happens again, not too worried. Haven't noticed any accelarating problems or low mpg (in fact rather good) or oil loss (also exceptionally good).

    So, auto HVAC is climate control - now I see the AC is probably the air con part ! I might just play around with the connection settings in case that sorts the comm problem.


    I am using the shareware software the cable came with. I'll play some more with it and see where I hit restrictions and if I find I need more than shareware I will cough up the $99 registration fee. I have read the literature on the ross-tech web site and to be honest the best thing is to start using it and see it in action.

    Just realised i am using the 409US version, but there is 409S version. Is there much of a difference between them ?
    #3
  5. thegoal007
    Offline

    thegoal007 Another S3 owner....

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Oct 18, 2009]
    on reading the details on ross web site I need to use the US version when using those dummy dongle to usb cables.
    Well, in fact I have installed both the US and the S version and they both work anyway so I will stick to using the US version.

    I cleared the engine error 3 days ago, but does not seem to have reappeared since then.

    I was playing with the measuring blocks (in particular engine & ABS sections) and obviosly the shareware versions limit on how many you can see, but is there any documentation anywhere which details what is available.I have managed to call some up and log them whilst I went out for a drive round the block. Opened them up in excel - all looks really cool stuff !

    The same question applies to the adaptation section in particular under instruments what controllers exists and what does each do ?

    As I am looking at keeping the laptop I have recently gained I will be adding some more memory next week and then think about registering this as I believe the serial number may change with the hardware setup of the pc.
    #4

Share This Page