1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to vagcom a3 8l need help please

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by bigwhitetruck, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. bigwhitetruck

    bigwhitetruck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i bought an audi a3 and thought id start simple and work up

    got ebay vag-com software was **** download a version 409-1 ?

    fitted dis stalk?

    connected to car now what?


    2002 A3 19 tdi sport

    and i have used the search and got pages and pages of cruise and dis fitting blah blah blah!! spent 3 days arsing around!

    tried to connect to 16 steering wheel but cant find module!
    tried 17 aswell still no luck!

    where do i enter code?

    what code?

    it cant be that hard ? can it?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. bigwhitetruck

    bigwhitetruck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    nobody
     
  4. JST_A3

    JST_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    3
    Could you post an autoscan so that we can see the modules that are available in your car?
    This information might allow people to see what your problem is and offer some help.
     
  5. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    If you are using a non genuine cable, you may only be able to scan for codes/faults .
    Also nongenuine cables and software are not discussed in this section as is for vcds licensed /lite users.
     
  6. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    175
    Also, is there actually a full DIS display?
     
  7. bigwhitetruck

    bigwhitetruck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok what does the dis screen look like?
    My dash has time in the rev counter
    my display that shows petrol warning oil ok in the middle and then miles and trip on the speedo

    cant get the autos can to work it finds the first 2 modules then crashes out
     
  8. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    DISis the lcd panel between the speedo and Tacho (rev counter) It gives info about car and warnings. Comes in 1/2 (top of panel is blacked out) and full size.
    I believe if you have half dis you cannot fit/use the stalk you have.
     
  9. bigwhitetruck

    bigwhitetruck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now we are getting somewhere
    so I will need to replace clocks?
    And a module aswell?
     
  10. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    175
    No, you will need to buy a proper vcds cable to post your scans, or get a member nearby to help out. Then determine the actual dash u have and the one you need to replace it with.
     
  11. bigwhitetruck

    bigwhitetruck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Think I will goto the vag meet tomorrow
     

Share This Page