1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New thermostat fitted... Is it failing again?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by gkf9, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2011]
    Drove home this afternoon, and noticed my temperature gauge only got up to 1/4 hot on display.
    I changed the sensor a few weeks ago only to find out it made no difference, so booked it into Awesome for thermostatt fitting, all as been well for the last week or so till I drove home today.

    Is it possible the new thermostat is faulty?
    Rung Awesome up, said I will have to pay if it's not thermostat ( fair enough ). worried now I'll be folking out again.

    Anyone had a new TS fail?

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Nov 1, 2011]
    its always possible for a new part to fail, hows the waterpump? old/new
    #2
  4. macpdm
    Offline

    macpdm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    3
  5. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2011]
    Had cambelt and water pump done last month.
    #4
  6. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2011]
    #5
  7. macpdm
    Offline

    macpdm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 1, 2011]
    By setting up the climatronic to show engine temp you can then look at the dial on your dash and if they are reading about the same then you know your temp sender is working correctly.

    I think :)

    Just found this which may help further I hope

    VWVortex.com - Climatronic diagnostic codes
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
    #6
  8. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2011]
    Well I drove to work this morning and the gauge hardly moved, when I got to work I left the car running and set the climate control to the lowest temp I could using the trick in the video ie: 64 degree. Now the gauge needle moved slowly up to about 64 degrees on the display ( gauge) no more, but the temp display on the climate control didn't move from 64 degrees.

    Does this then point to the thermostat.?

    TIA
    #7
  9. CMD
    Offline

    CMD Pointing Forward's!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Nov 2, 2011]
    I bet your Temp sender has FAILED
    #8
  10. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 2, 2011]
    #9
  11. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2011]
    I bloody hope not! I've got it booked into the garage tommorow saying they've fit me a faulty TS. How can I find out for certain what it is? I can't afford another £90 again if it's not the TS.

    And would I be able to get my money back from VW for the Temp Sender if it turns out to be that?

    Starting to get fed up with this car now, starting to cost to much money.

    Thanks.
    #10
  12. CMD
    Offline

    CMD Pointing Forward's!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Nov 2, 2011]
    Buy your temp sender from TPS or GSF
    #11
  13. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2011]
    It was a OEM sender should of been good.
    #12
  14. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2011]
    Took the car back to the garage today to get a new thermo fitted after I told them the one they had fitted was faulty. Guy put it on the vagcom and after 30 mins said the problem was not the thermostat, he checked the gauge out put and watched gauge and measuring blocks ( science I don't understand ) anyway after paying £33 for them to check it and telling me it was all good I drove home.

    Turned back round after it wasn't right, and demanded they fit a new thermo, still said he didn't think it was the thermo so I said I would get it fitted somewhere elseand they could reimburse for all money lost if it was the thermo.

    1hr later agreeded to fit me a new one and all was good again, said they had fitted me an uprated thermo no extra charge, and apologised saying they have never had a faulty one before. Got my £33 refunded for the vagcom and off I went.

    Thanks to this forum I told them I was adamant it was the tempo after the advice and symptoms mentioned on this forum.

    Sorry it's a bit long winded but just shows new tempo's can be faulty.
    #13
  15. macpdm
    Offline

    macpdm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 3, 2011]
    Well done fella glad you got it sorted.
    #14

Share This Page