1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New stereo but now my radio wont find a station

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Red_Stafford, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I have just replaced my standard HU with a Sony Xplod HU, I went to Halfords today and brought the aerial adapter but it wont find any stations ??

    Can any of you guys help me out here !!!!
    #1
  2. Dan TheMan Welburn
    Offline

    Dan TheMan Welburn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    23
    Hiya there were u able to get a decent radio reception on the standard stereo? the radio reception on the b6 is a common issue, from what ive read not alot of people bother fixing it
    #2
  3. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes the radio on the previous stereo was fine

    Is it something o do with this connector
    #3
  4. shady-ninja
    Offline

    shady-ninja Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    39
    you need an areal amp bootser which should be around £10-15
    #4
  5. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    495
    i have 1 u can have if your around sheffield
    #5
  6. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live in Leicester mate, could u post?
    #6
  7. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    495
    to be honest iv got no time at all to post
    but if your passing or know anyone around here
    your welcome to it.
    #7
  8. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, can u post a pic of exact what I need
    #8
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    #9
  10. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers mate, but what's a fling lead

    Also can you point me to the correct one from the Halfords site so I can buy it locally tomorrow, thanks.
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
    #10
  11. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    495
    its the blue wire
    needs to goto the remote amp wire on the new head
    #11
  12. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers

    Also can you point me to the correct one from the Halfords site so I can buy it locally tomorrow, thanks.
    #12
  13. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    #13
  14. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    #14
  15. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    Have a look on eBay I got mine for 5 quid posted

    And on that other website postage isn't a tenner! Halfords are rip offs
    #15
  16. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry guys but I'm confused, obviously the metal pin end goes into the back of the stereo but what do I connect to the blue plug
    #16
  17. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    495
    to the green ish plug
    #17
  18. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    495
    then the blue wire to remote amp wire on new head or electric aerial wire on new head
    #18
  19. Red_Stafford
    Offline

    Red_Stafford Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this the plug I posted the pic of
    #19
  20. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    495
    yes
    #20

Share This Page