NEW S3 OWNER..2 Chip or not 2 Chip?

fusions3

Reaction score
That is the question racking my brains.

Hi all, I am finally a proud owner of an S3 (1999 - 210bhp). I am astounded by the perfromace it has shown so far, bearing in mind that my previous car was an A4 Tdi (90bhp). I cant make up my mind to chip the car or not, as I have just put on 18" RS4 wheels and the performance has droped slightly, and would like the extra 60 or so horses. My concern however is that will me getting my car chipped damage anything in anyway, engine etc, and how would I go about servicing etc as they will see its been modified. Im sorry if this sounds thick but im a newbie in this department. Also if I do decide to get it chipped who would you recomend, AMD seem to be winning the poll, im only a few miles from JabbaSport but travelling or price is not an issue, its whoever does the best job. Any advice on the above will be greatly appreciated as I hate being neither here or there. Please help me out so I can make the right decision.

Thanx in Advance

Fusion

Hi,

I would definately get it chipped! I've had 2 S3's (both 210bhp). The first one I didn't get chipped. I bought a diesel then decided to go back to the S3 as I missed it soo much. I bought my second S3 and booked it into AmD for the upgrade. It was £550 inclusive of Vat (Group buy deal) and its worth every penny. The difference is truly amazing - night and day. There are people who have had their S3 chipped and have been running trouble free for years! I'm sure someone will be along shortly with some examples.

The only item I think you should look to upgrade when getting the car chipped is the uprated Diverter Valve. tThe standard diagrhram ones tend to break quite easily so you'd be better off getting the piston type (serviceable) to help with the power.