1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Road Angel - A common Fault ?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by Andy101, Mar 10, 2006.

  1. Andy101

    Andy101 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    14
    My New Raod Angel is approaching twelve months old. Recently its begun taking a while to locate satellites (3-4 miles), but on occassion I've driven for 20 minutes. Is this a common thing, may have to get it sent in for a closer look.
     
  2. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    I've had mine for 18 months and it always picks up within about 30 seconds
     
  3. rickquattro

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine did a similar thing then failed to pick up any satelites at all. Sent it back to Blackspot where it needed a new GPS engine. No quibble, fast return, no charge. Excellent service, but boy did I miss it while it was away!
     
  4. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,638
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Mine can take up to five minutes on occasions. I might ring them & see if I can wangle a free upgrade.
     
  5. scbduke

    scbduke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a similar problem with my RA Nav, failed to pick up a satellite for about 20 mins. I've found that rather than putting the unit into standby mode with the button on the front if I turn if off completely with the one on the base then on again it picks up a satellite almost straight away - I guess it clears any duff entries out of the way and allows a clean start.
     
  6. fallmonk

    fallmonk Turbo Sport

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had a loan of mates "navman" and a couple of times it threw a wobler and couldnt find a satellites for ages as well ! tryed switching off and re-booting didnt work , just had to leave it till it found them!
     
  7. DIPS_A4

    DIPS_A4 SEAT LEON CUPRA R (225)

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    i found my road angel does not pick up any redlight cameras even if i have installed the updates is that also a common fault?
    ive got road angel 2 with laser alert
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    Ermmm it's a speed camera detector, the clue's in the name.
    You can't really jump a red light accidently.
     
  9. Andy101

    Andy101 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    14
    [ QUOTE ]
    Mine did a similar thing then failed to pick up any satelites at all. Sent it back to Blackspot where it needed a new GPS engine. No quibble, fast return, no charge. Excellent service, but boy did I miss it while it was away!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    When you got the GPS engine repalced was it in warranty ?
    May give it a go anyway.
     
  10. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    I feel naked without mine (I share it with the wife after mine got nicked), the accurate speed readout is just so reassuring somehow.
     
  11. rickquattro

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0


    [/ QUOTE ]

    When you got the GPS engine repalced was it in warranty ?
    May give it a go anyway.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Hmm. I think so but not sure. Given the response that I had from them, I wouldn't be suprised if they helped you out after the warranty has expired. As I said, no quibble or attempts to wriggle out of getting it sorted.

    I know what you mean when you say that you feel a bit vunerable without it.....
     
  12. Andy101

    Andy101 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    14
    [ QUOTE ]
    I feel naked without mine (I share it with the wife after mine got nicked), the accurate speed readout is just so reassuring somehow.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    If you have the unit number blackspot shoutbe able to disable your nicked unit i think.
    Will tryand blag a repair on mine
     
  13. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes I did this, but doesn't really help me. The scum that stole it is hardly likely to have the intelligence to even try and synch the database. Blackspot can't disable the actual unit as it is only a receiver, all they can do is disable any updates.
     
  14. 205man

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    8
    ive got a road angel classic and it wont find any signal? blackspot told me it was due to the audi windscreen but if you lot are getting a signal then it must be the unit
     
  15. fallmonk

    fallmonk Turbo Sport

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    4
    anyone running the road angel plus , and how does it stack up against the Origin B2 ????
    wots the better item?
     

Share This Page