1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New owner

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by thehogester, Jul 15, 2013.

  1. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    First of all nice to meet you all, recently bought myself a 2.0T S Line in silver on a 55 plate.

    Got a few little issues id like to sort.

    First off is the glovebox hinge, ive been told this is a common weak point and theres options for DIY fixing it.

    Next up is the clips on the arm rest need replacing.

    Lastly is finding a way of connecting my iPhone up to the stereo.

    I realise theres a search function, but id also like to introduce myself to you guys. I've fallen in love with my A4, so ill be on the forum quite often no doubt.

    Thanks in advance for any help/replies!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    558
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    well the armrest needs a new lid

    the glove box can be fixed i just sorced a sh one from ebay
    theres a few ways to get iphone to stereo someone wll be along soon to advise on options

    and welcome
    #2
  4. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    #3
  5. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    558
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    worth a try for the price
    #4
  6. Paul B7
    Offline

    Paul B7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    #5
  7. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    Cheers for the links guys, cheap and cheerful fixes suit me down to the ground!

    Just need to sort an iPhone connection. I quite like the look of the standard stereo, just seems cleaner keeping it. However I feel an aftermarket head unit with a USB port on the front would be the easiest option.

    I've got the Bose speakers and 6 cd changer in the broken glovebox haha. I'm never going to use the cd changer though.
    #6
  8. A4Ade
    Offline

    A4Ade Back from the dead

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    I have an XCARLINK - this allows you to use your existing headunit controls in a fairly basic way. With my Symphony II I can control FF/RW and skip tracks etc from the HU and steering wheel. It uses the CD changer (CDC) connection on the HU, but also allows you to keep the changer plugged in too if you want. Has an aux connection too for basic audio pads through.
    #7
  9. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    Mines the Concert (single din version), would it work with that do you know?
    #8
  10. A4Ade
    Offline

    A4Ade Back from the dead

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    #9
  11. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 17, 2013]
    #10
  12. Cjb
    Offline

    Cjb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 17, 2013]
    #11
  13. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 18, 2013]
    Can anyone help explain how the Bose system is setup exactly? It has it's own amplifier separate to the headunit? Is that right? So would an aftermarket unit be able to power the system, or would you run the pre outs into the existing Bose amp?
    #12
  14. Emmo
    Offline

    Emmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    The BOSE system does have a separate amp, an aftermarket unit will power the system as long as you buy the correct harness to go with it. You will also need an aerial booster aswell.
    #13
  15. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    Does this look right?

    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/audi-active-wiring-adaptor.html

    What is the aerial booster for? Sorry if that's a stupid question.

    So with an aftermarket headunit, is the Bose amp still in use?
    #14
  16. Emmo
    Offline

    Emmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    #15
  17. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    Thanks for that! So does the headunit amplifier power some of the speakers, or is the Bose amplifier powering all of the speakers?
    #16
  18. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 20, 2013]
    #17
  19. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    A little update: I've ordered the clip to fix the arm rest lid. I'll let you guys know how it goes, hopefully well!

    I also wanted to ask you guys if there's any well known issues that are worth rectifying? Anything likely to go that's worth fixing now?

    I've been reading that the 2.0T is designed to run on super unleaded, so I'll be putting a tank of vpower in next.

    I've got to say I'm loving being an Audi owner now! I'm very much converted to vag!
    #18
  20. Molnboman
    Offline

    Molnboman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    177
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    I've been reading that the 2.0T is designed to run on super unleaded, so I'll be putting a tank of vpower in next.

    I've got to say I'm loving being an Audi owner now! I'm very much converted to vag![/QUOTE]

    Glad you are enjoying your new car, and may wish you all the best with it. Plus one with you on the fuel. My 2.0t does not like 95 ron and rattled like a bast@rd until I changed to 98. Can't tell any difference between Shell V Power and the other 98 brands...although I would use Shell VPower over the others given the choice.

    Other issues....You should check if the Diverter valve has been changed. Makes a big difference if yours is gubbed. HOW TO REPLACE VW AUDI DIVERTER VALVE - VAG DIVERTER VALVE DIY 2.0T - 2.0T DIVERTER VALVE DIY - YouTube

    If your water temp is not bang on 90c you'll maybe need a new thermostat unit. The needle should be bang on 90. If not you'll use more fuel.....which am sure you can do without.

    Other than that, IMHO I would take your off any long service oil changes ( if your car is on it ) and switch to full synth' oil and filter changes instead. I have always changed mine at 10k km's regardless of time ...I know it's a very emotive issue amongst Forum members, but something I have always done with cars I have owned with turbos. Cheaper than a full tank of gas.

    Check this excellent write up too on the 2.0t engine issues. If for a Volkswagen but it's the same engine type as ours. Common issues, tips and tricks for the 2.0t FSI BPY engine | 2006 GLI worklog

    Cheers
    Allan
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2013
    #19
  21. thehogester
    Offline

    thehogester Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    Great reply there mate, thanks for that! Is the diverter valve a pretty easy job or worth going to a garage? I've recently realised there's a vw/audi specialist based very locally to me.
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2013
    #20
  22. Molnboman
    Offline

    Molnboman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    177
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    No worries, you'll get plenty of advice on here.....just maybe a bit slow right now to reply cause of holidays and stuff but you'll get an answer or an opinion pretty sharpish usually. If you are handy wae a spanner, then you could probably do the diverter valve yourself. I don't have any tools up here so use a local independent....think they charged me an hour labour...think it takes about half an hour...the part if I remember is about around 40 quid....it's the cheapest mod you can do...and the most effective if yours is the old type as in the YT link I sent you.

    Cheers
    A
    #21

Share This Page