1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New key

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    I've had one key for a while and wanted a spare key but I wanted it go be different.

    Found a couple of things on the internet, spoke to a mate, picked up some parts and dropped them off at his place.

    Several days later I picked this up.

    [​IMG] uploadfromtaptalk1380574242616.jpg


    It fits and work.
    Just waiting for a new chip from @udiA3.

    Spoke to my mate and he's willing to make some more like but slightly different. Just waiting for some blades and we'll get making.
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2013
    #1
    JoeeS3 and PAULF like this.
  2. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    391
    That's brilliant! Excellent idea Mr Scott. You need a week off work more often.
    #2
  3. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Love it lol.
    #3
  4. TOTE
    Offline

    TOTE Just Me

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    10
    That looks nice
    #4
  5. Tom_B
    Offline

    Tom_B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    18
    How you going to code them Scott?
    #5
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Same way you code any key.
    Put in a blank transponder chip, code it and you're done.

    Once I got my blank chip off @udiA3 I can get it coded and ready for ADI. :)
    #6
  7. jbh
    Offline

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    84
    Ive had a few fords that ive used a screw driver to start but I love the idea of this.
    #7
  8. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    Interesting if you got stopped by the Feds... ;)
    #8
  9. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Apparently since its my car it ups to me how I start it but I agree, it would be interesting.

    My Dad said I need to drive around and get pulled over to see what they say. lol
    #9
  10. jbh
    Offline

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    84
    I remember getting pulled with my old sierra years ago in the middle of Glasgow.
    it took a fair bit of explaining to the boys in blue that it was my car.. but I had no keys for it.

    they couldn't understand the fact that I owned it but had no keys for it.
    after a trip to the police station and checking my licence ( non photo which made life even harder )
    calling my house and speaking to my old man they still weren't happy.
    I finally got them to call the previous owner ( my dads next door neighbor )
    they asked him if there was keys for it when he sold it and to describe me. which he replied telling them he had lost the keys so gave me the car as he had only used it for work..

    they finally let me go telling me that I had to get the locks repaired and use keys on the car!! I ran it for another 18 month using a screwdriver to start it. I never got any hassle from the local cops but they knew me ( not in a bad way just small town every one knows every one **** )
    #10
    ScottD3 likes this.
  11. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    I suspect when you show them the screwdriver actually has a key blade on the end and contains the immo transponder they'll see the funny side and wont have a problem with it.
    #11
  12. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    181
    You're relying on them having a sense of humour, the traffic police undergo a medical procedure to remove this before they are let lut on their hunt for easy tickets.
    #12
    Westy and jbh like this.
  13. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Never seen any traffic cops down here so I think I'll be ok.

    Bristol police seem to good. Never had any issues with them.
    So I might be ok until I venture out of the South West.
    #13
  14. Tom_B
    Offline

    Tom_B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    18
    So are you coding it with Vcds? And how did you get the transponder code?
    #14
  15. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    I'll code with VCDS.

    I got the cluster SKC code from a local locksmith. He got it for me.
    #15
  16. Tom_B
    Offline

    Tom_B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    18
    cool
    #16
  17. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    And it all works fine. :)

    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #17

Share This Page