1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New head unit, replacing 2005 concert.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by squarebush80, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. squarebush80
    Offline

    squarebush80 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2013]
    My a3 2005 concert is getting replaced for an up to date stereo, can anyone tell me if its just a case of getting an adapter of some sort for the back of the unit and plugging it in or will it be a case of swapping some wires around.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. mmalh0151
    Offline

    mmalh0151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 31, 2013]
    Up to date Audi stereo?
    #2
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,503
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    [Jan 31, 2013]
    Yeah, exactly, would help us if you gave us the full story as in what radio, audi or aftermarket etc.
    #3
  5. squarebush80
    Offline

    squarebush80 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2013]
    Sorry guys, looking to go for either a Pioneer or Kenwood CD player with bluetooth capability
    #4
  6. mmalh0151
    Offline

    mmalh0151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 31, 2013]
    I have a Pioneer 2400bt in my Lexus and its superb but not sure if I am going to fit to my S3. Its a brilliant unit, I am probably going to sell it soon though!
    #5
  7. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 31, 2013]
    You will have standard ISO connectors for the power and front speakers - depending on the stereo, this bit should be "plug and play", however since the Factory stereo uses canbus for ignition on/off, you'll likely have to switch it on and off yourself unless you use a canbus adapter - likewise if you want speed controlled volume etc.

    Worse still, but still doable is the rear speakers including the weedy factory sub are fed by a line level output from the factory unit to an amp in the factory sub, so you'll need to connect the line-out from the new head to these using an adaptor to the mini-ISO connector (or do without rear speakers).

    It can be done (ask me how I know), but it's not a five minute job.
    #6
  8. squarebush80
    Offline

    squarebush80 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 1, 2013]
    Im guessing youve done this job before and it was a nightmare? And where is the sub located in the car? i had no idea there was one in the car. I take it, the red plug is for the built-in handsfree and the small yellow plug on the right is for the display on the dash (and both of these wont work with the new stereo) and the other 3 plugs on the left are for, front and rear speakers and the sub?

    Attached Files:

    #7
  9. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 1, 2013]
    Not a nightmare, but it did take a bit of mucking around to get it right. The sub is behind the plastic trim panel at the back - I think it's nearside from memory. I don't have factory hands-free so I don't have that red plug, but I think that's right.

    The other two similar sized ones are standard ISO one for power and one for front speakers - the (third) longer one is to the amp - as laid out the label on the top of the head unit - you can get these all working, you need some adapters, but you may decide not to bother. I was lucky as my replacement head unit had one of these long mini-iso connectors already - plug and play (nearly) I had to splice in my DAB box, but that's another stroy.

    The next bit I am not certain on as I have gone DAB so ran a new aerial, but I think the yellow one is a Fakra aerial - I seem to recall that the aerial is a diversity system with two connections - the ordinary one we all know and love and that Fakra one too. You are going to need an adapter for the aerial I believe as IIRC the rear screen aerial module takes power from the OEM head unit. I might be wrong about the yellow plug though, it may be for the DIS.
    #8
  10. squarebush80
    Offline

    squarebush80 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 2, 2013]
    Cheers for that. The guy in the shop pointed out the wires for the rear speakers and said just to connect them onto an RC, and the rest is just plugs, also said the system is semi amplified. The new unit wont be in for a couple of weeks, will let you know how i get on. Cheers again. Paul
    #9
  11. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 2, 2013]
    No probs
    #10

Share This Page