1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new engine help?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by black s3, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. black s3

    black s3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    the oil pump went on my s3 which has caused bottom end to dry up (im guessing) so im just wondering would a golf gti 150bhp turbo engine lump fit using my gearbox turbo ecu etc so its still running like a s3? if so is it worth doing or to much hastle?

    any help would be appreciated
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. s3joe

    s3joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    32
    There is a lad up here splitting a s3 as the turbo blew I can give you his number if you want.
     
  4. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    yes the turbo golf blocks will be fine mate...
     
  5. black s3

    black s3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeh the only problem is the s3 engines pick up quite alot of money thats why im after a golf 1, and theres a few around dwn here
     
  6. black s3

    black s3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks anyway tho :)
     
  7. black s3

    black s3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers mate, will it fit in just as easy as the bam lump?
     
  8. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    yes you just swap all your gear over to it ...manni turbo and inlet, etc as yours got VVT? if so the head will need changing too, or at least the cams and controller
     
  9. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,541
    Likes Received:
    2,112
    If the Golf engine is an AUM then it will have 19mm gudgeon pins and not the 20mm pins of the S3... try and get a AGU from a Golf/A3 if you can...

    If you have an APY then a BAM engine doesn't have SAI so you will need to do a delete and also change the cam chain tensioner to the non VVT off yours... if yours ia an AMK then the BAM is a straight swap..

    You can use more or less any transverse 20v turbo engine and just mix and match the good bits from yours... 150/180 engines run higher compression ratio than S3's but not really an issue... both Welly and I run higher comp pistons with no issues...

    <tuffty/>
     
  10. black s3

    black s3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    its the bam engine in mine, do you think its to much work? any rough prices? got a mechanic that will do mates rate
     

Share This Page