1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new brakes cause alarm

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by mr-swany, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. mr-swany

    mr-swany New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    did my rear pads yesterday. easy job. however round red message is now played not all the time and is getting less but whar have i disturbed lollol
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    315
    Almost certainly upset one of the rear ABS sensors
     
  4. mr-swany

    mr-swany New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    agreed took caliper . off didnt disconnect anything electronic. will it sort its self out
     
  5. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    315
    Can you get in there with an air line? Is there a wear indicator on the back pads? If so it might be worth giving the contact a squirt of electrical contact cleaner.
     
  6. mr-swany

    mr-swany New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    have to look at weekend when i do other side. brakes working well but alarm still going manly round corners. thanks for your helphelp. dont think there is wear indicator as it should of been flashing when pads where out. will check though
     
  7. Vex182

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    78
    ABS sensor I guess, the rears don't have a wear seasor. It's not just bad luck is it and that the front wear sensor (near side) has been set off by worn old pads?
     
  8. Vwdan80

    Vwdan80 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wouldn't the abs light be on if it was an abs prob? Have you checked the brake fluid level?
     
  9. Vex182

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    78
    The most obvious thing here really is scan with fault codes too. I would have expected the ABS light to have stayed on.
     
  10. mr-swany

    mr-swany New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    no abs light on. brake fluid is the only thing with an electrcal connection i have touch. would plug in but as its not all the timetime wouldit show does ecu store fault codes
     
  11. Vex182

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    78
    The ecu's in these are pretty intelligent, yeh it will save codes until they are wiped.
     
  12. Vwdan80

    Vwdan80 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would check the fluid level and the sensor on the reservoir is working properly first
     
  13. mr-swany

    mr-swany New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    just check freezing out there . i took caliper off must have taken while to get into system but fluid was below sensor. topped up and pumped brakes with engine on. has gone down again but not as much will keep eye on it. lost lot of fluid on because i had to take off to rewind pot and was stiff. dont think it leaks done 150 miles since change brakes are bang on.
     
  14. mr-swany

    mr-swany New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    meant to ask what is the correct level
     
  15. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,097
    Likes Received:
    424
    I agree, check fluid first
     
  16. Vwdan80

    Vwdan80 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    There should be a max and min mark on the side of the reservoir, if you have disconnected the caliper I would check its definately not leaking to be on the safe side :)
     
  17. mr-swany

    mr-swany New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    problem solved no leaks just lost more than i thought. idiot boy alarm no longer going of . fluid level restoredrestored thanks for all your help
     

Share This Page