1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New A6 owner = questions

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)' started by ex-vag, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. ex-vag

    ex-vag New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    Wondered if any of you guys here can help.

    I've just bought my first Audi, an A6 07 plate 2.0 Tdi with a DSG box, drove it around and it's fine, smooth, refined and everything else I've read about Audi's.
    So, couldn't resist the temptation to re-map the power from 140-180bhp after a couple of months of ownership, now it's same as before but with much more pull and I'm even happier with it. Only thing is I've noticed that on start up it seems to tick over at just over 1000rpm and when slowing to a stop it holds the revs at around 1500rpm. Now I don't know if this is a result of the re-map or the recent cold weather :unsure: resulting in some sort of auto choke (do they even have these??) kicking in.
    Went out in it this afternoon and it seemed to be fine, tickover around 950rpm and revs dropped consistently and smoothly on slow down.
    It's been going on since I had it re-mapped last week, bloke said it would take a week or so for the ECU to settle down after the re-mapping.

    Maybe I'm just a bit paranoid now that it's been re-mapped, but I'm sure this wasn't happening before.
    Anyone else had theirs re-mapped with some teething problems that went away after a short while? Starting to wish I'd never had it done and stuck with the standard dogg-ish 140bhp :crying:

    My other quesitons are mod related:
    Can I get a TV unit for the MMI?
    Is there an MP3 changer available for swapping out the standard CD changer?
    LED lights front and rear, are these available for an '07 A6?

    That's it really, not much else I need or want to do to the car. Maybe bigger alloys but that can wait....:yes:
     
    #1 ex-vag, Nov 10, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. neilwaterhouse88

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi can't help about the remap but I have an 2010 a3 and have had the led lights retrofitted to that excellent job done by hazzydayz the are a vw and audi specialist take a look it will at least give you an idea of what is available and if you contact them they will be able to let you know what they can and can't do hope this is some help
    Audi A6 4F - Vw & Audi Sat Nav, Bluetooth , TV Tuners, Cruise Control Installations UK
     
  4. ex-vag

    ex-vag New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Neil, I'll take a gander at that.

    Update on the high revs, this morning it was fine! Noticed that the outside temp was 10.5c though and previous mornings it was below 4c, maybe it is the choke!?
     
  5. Rikster23

    Rikster23 On the facelift path...

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    How big are the standard rims?

    Regarding leds, I dont really know, but Ive changed my 8L light clusters from the old style to a new style and they were straight swops.

    I found mine on ebay after a month.
     
  6. richardpolo

    richardpolo richardaudi0

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 07 A6 2.0 TDI Multitronic also does this, but I think you'll find it's the DPF (diesel particulate filter) cleaning itself. It does it a couple of times a month, say every 500 miles or so. It worried me at first!
     
  7. ex-vag

    ex-vag New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really? I didn't think mine had a DPF?

    Rickster23, you think I can simply get a new pair of LED front lights from the latest model and swap them in? Looking athe the previous link they'er about £850!!
    Off the top of my head I think the rims are 17"s, looks like they can go to 18/19" no problem, obvioulsy with a lower profile tyre fitted, but then it might get a bit bumpy!
     
    #6 ex-vag, Nov 11, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  8. Rikster23

    Rikster23 On the facelift path...

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I didnt go for proper Audi ones as I ended up installing HID kit and it looks great and cheaper on the wallet.
    Reason why they are that much is because they are self levelling etc.

    Your alloys didnt look like 17s :)
     
  9. richardpolo

    richardpolo richardaudi0

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re DPF: If you look on the vehicle sticker (on the inside front cover of the service book and also in the spare wheel well) it will say if yours has DPF.
    Mine says "A6 Avant TDI2.0 R4 103 KW DPF A7M 02/07" on a couple of lines. Hope this is of use.
     
  10. ex-vag

    ex-vag New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the info richard polo, I haven't got round to checking you the sticker yet though.

    Update on the re-map: All seems to be well, cold weather tickover on start up seems to have settled down and everything seems to be ok so far! The only thing annoying me now is being unable to play MP3's via the changer. Does anyone know if this CD changer can be swapped out for one that can read MP3's if there's such a thing? I'd like to keep the controls on the MMI so don't want to use the phono output from the CD changer and connect to an MP3 player.
     
  11. s8craig

    s8craig Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    If your mmi panel says MEDIA then it should be mp3 capable, if not a new changer is required.

    Also there are no phonos on the CD changer as it is fiber optic.
     
  12. ex-vag

    ex-vag New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    And it's as simple as that.
    Muchos gracias s8craig, just tried that and it worked. Dunno why I didn't try it before, think it was the sales man at the dealership trying to get me to buy the iPod adaptor for £500!! Anyway, much appreciate your reply it's saved me a lot of hassle and expense.
    Cheers
     

Share This Page