1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new 1.8t owner with a problem...

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by WillJP, Aug 4, 2012.

1. WillJP

WillJP Member

[Aug 4, 2012]
    Hi all,

Bought my self a 2001 a3 1.8t AUM with a blown turbo for £500. It has all type extras from elec seats to a.c to bose system and thought I'd got my self a bargain! I am a mechanic so it's little project. I took the turbo off and got it rebuilt and made into a hybrid a the same time. Fitted the turbo and Filled up with new 5 30w oil. Took it out and it was going like the wind! Is was said to have been remapped to 212hp before apparently. Then on come 3 beeps and flashing oil can!... from what I know this is lack of oil pressure so limped it home but at the last set of lights it started to sound like a. Diesel or like a slack chain.

I'm going for 1.8t sludge with pick up and oil pump

Now all I can think of is the lack of oil pressure has stopped the tensioner on the chain inside and it's rattling. Getting it towed to my work later on and will investigate but want other peoples input please :)

Thanks
  2. Ads

Ads

[Sep 17, 2014]

3. beachbuggy

beachbuggy Well-Known Member

[Aug 4, 2012]
    Do you know why the old turbo failed? Maybe it failed because if oil starvation? And if that's the case then it's likely the oil pump has failed or there is sludge in the pickup! I'd say you've possibly damaged the cams tensioner or bearings! And hopefully not your new turbo.

Sorry to ask but if you're a mechanic did you not check the cause of the original failure? Just fitting a new turbo without doing that is kinda asking for trouble. Hopefully though it's nothing serious..
  4. WillJP

WillJP Member

[Aug 4, 2012]