1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Needle sweep!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by navnayyar, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. navnayyar

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi! does anyone know if its possible for 2004 a3 to do needle sweep? or what mods are needed to do this :thumbsup:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    you would need to fit a whole new instrument cluster, 2008 on IIRC
     
  4. WiZBiT

    WiZBiT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its not possible via VAGCOM. as said, you need a new cluster.
     
  5. navnayyar

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone done this? how easy/hard is it? what does it cost roughly? any part numbers?
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Only available on the S3, R8 sportier cars, I have the new white dis cluster, not possible even with that newer cluster unless certain car
     
  7. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,467
    Yes it's trick, but I could never be @r$ed to spend that much money on a mod that has no performance benefits.
     
  8. navnayyar

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats weird! the insignia i had did it! surely there must be a way without changning the cluster
     
  9. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    does in not work on your car? Maybe you also need the newer network control board that your selling?
     
  10. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    As I said people its only available on the sportier cars like S3, R8 etc, 2.0 tdi's arent what audi consider sporty no matter what we've done to them, lol & even on your car with new cluster it wont work unless it thinks its one of the already mentioned & I have the latest 30 byte module K, wont make any difference mate & that N version was sold.
     
    Adamj likes this.
  11. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gotcha. Glad you got it sold too. Seen any facelift S3 clusters on eday.de LOL?
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    I offered to get you the other, but you didnt want, tough titty as we say, lol.

    PS. If I see one I'll send a pigeon up to advise.
     
  13. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    lol, I was put off by the need for pump change & Immob coding/ mph v Km calibration issues, I'm light weight modder LOL. Also needed to focus on front end at that time :rolleyes:
     
  14. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    www.redtube.com will help with that mate :undwech:
     
  15. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
  16. tdisportuk

    tdisportuk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha
     
  17. Rabbit222

    Rabbit222 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    117
    True, besides the early spec models without needle sweep belted out about 10kw more than those S3s with needle sweep .:p
     
  18. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,467
    I'm having that. Nice one!
     
  19. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes Received:
    57
    First time I've heard that one!
     
  20. ryanstewart9

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    9
    I read about the same thing on uk-mkivs.net

    There is someone on there who managed to do it on a Q7

    "The Q7 was a 2008 model and its just in the longcoding as one of the options in VAGCOM in the Instruments -17-.
    There was also a Lap Timer."

    So looks like your right about it only being available on certain models.
     
  21. HSerce

    HSerce Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    just got my car back from audi, as they changed the clocks because i had a line in the DIS (still have it) now i got the needle sweep!! lool
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. ryanstewart9

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    9
    HSerce,

    What model & engine are you running?
     
  24. HSerce

    HSerce Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    2007 s3...:arco:
     
  25. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    where is the line? There is supposed to be one between the main display area and the bit at the top the displays the radio/CD track etc.
     
  26. HSerce

    HSerce Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    well they changed the clocks and its still there.. should take it back?
     
  27. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    Oops, just re read what I said, was kinda misleading. Can you see a faint black line below the FM, there isn't supposed to be a line there. If it's anywhere else on the display I would take it back.

    [​IMG]
     
  28. geraint.davies

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine has this line of missing pixels as well, it is booked in at the dealer for a new dashpod under warranty on the 14th.

    Is it really the case that this should be there as it just looks like a line of missing pixels to me and when I pointed it out they agreed to replace it under warranty?
     
  29. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    There is a line of missing pixels there on all DIS's, your would think Audi would know this. Maybe they need a few extra warrenty ££ for christmas bonus's LOL
     
  30. geraint.davies

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it a new thing as I don't seem to remember it on my old TT?
     
    Adamj likes this.
  31. VWAddict

    VWAddict Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    EVERY "red" display has this. It's the transition border between the top section (which is 'bichrome', in that it turns yellow for check engine lights, low fuel warnings etc.) and the 'red-only' monochrome lower section.

    Sounds like someone just accidentally bluffed their way into needle-sweep, by virtue of never noticing that it's ALWAYS been there!

    Keith
     
  32. Lima

    Lima AUSmotive.com

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    26
    The needle sweep is a bit ricey TBH, besides it was a trick Subaru introduced on their Liberty/Legacy models about 7 years ago. So, not only is it ricey, it's also a bit old. Okay, it looks cool, but only for the first week or so. I don't even notice it now.
     
  33. 8utters

    8utters New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Result! :yes:
     

Share This Page