1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need your help...

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by gmx, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 24, 2010]
    my ECU has packed it.

    Problem is I'm having a hard time finding this ECU here.
    As B5 1.8Ts are far more abundant in the UK, I would appreciate anyone's help if they got a 558DA ECU lying around willing to sell & ship over here....
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,696
    Likes Received:
    331
    [Feb 24, 2010]
    I dont think i've ever heard of an ECU failure...

    What are the symptoms?

    An ecu from any 1.8T will get you going, as long as its the same style (early '96/'97 cars have a different ECU). TQS's are pretty rare here, so i kinda doubt there will be many ECU's just sitting around.
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,656
    Likes Received:
    291
    [Feb 24, 2010]
    Can you not get one like mine and get it de immo'd?
    #3
  5. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 24, 2010]
    Mark,

    do you mean one from an AGU? (or MK4 GTI/A3 with DBC?).
    I don't know if Unitronic can work with it...
    558DA would be the easiest to work with so I can transfer the chip & socket.

    back to the problem.
    100% certain the ECU **** itself.
    It was intermittently on/off (random car shut offs as well as odd things, suddenly lose power then comes back over the last few months etc).
    We swapped loads of parts today.

    1) VAG COM will get no response from the Engine control module, this is the 1st clue.
    2) My mate's ECU fires up in my car (dies 3seconds later due to Immo). Put my ECU in his and does the same thing. Refuses to start.
    Conclusion: ECU faulty or some solder joint failure/poor.
    #4
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,696
    Likes Received:
    331
    [Feb 24, 2010]
    chip and socket? if your changing the eeprom you can probably use any 558 ecu...

    Can vagcom talk to your mates ECU when its fitted?

    It could be one of the relays that provides power to the ECU itself?
    #5
  7. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,656
    Likes Received:
    291
    [Feb 24, 2010]
    If you are swapping to your own map, then and new style ECU will suffice, i would use a 558E and stick your Chip and socket in it. Although it looks to me like your current socket/chip needs re soldering . I have heard this a few times especially on the Zine.

    In a week or so, i am looking at getting my immo cloned to allow direct swap to the AGU ECU at any time, that will free up my DA but i am at mercy of the postal service. That over here is shockingly bad.......


    You could probably do much the same, remove the 24c02 chip from your dead DA and transfer that to your replacement when you socket and chip it.
    #6
  8. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 24, 2010]
    His firing up in mine and mine not firing up in his - pretty much replicating the issue points to the ECU.

    My mate's car is a prefacelift 98 1.8T but with an AJL engine (it has some other weird things such as optioned DIS)
    His ECU is 558D, whereas mine is 558DA.

    What do I need to do to put in a 558E?
    I read somewhere the E just means the revision of the ECU. What advantages does it have?
    I see these on ebay for <100GBP.
    I'm actually getting the socket looked at tomorrow and preparing for the worst.


    I seriously would consider the flashable ECU swap in the future (if I can get maps for it). How do you clone your immo? IS that the 24c02 IC?
    #7

Share This Page