1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some help with stripping out the interior

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Amir, Apr 30, 2013.

  1. Amir
    Offline

    Amir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2013]
    Evening,

    I have a B6 A4 Avant, I need to install some RCAs and rearrange some other aftermarket wiring that runs from the front of the car to the rear. As it currently stands I think the most vacant side of the car is the drivers side, I already have quite a few runs of power and ground wire down the passenger side so not sure if there's enough room for more wiring.

    As per the pic below....

    [​IMG]

    I intend on doing this with a friend however I haven't really stripped out the interior before. From my experience of removing trims before it can be quite tricky but in the end I've managed to get the job done. Is there anyone who can offer some advice or tips for this tremendous task? A link to a guide or two would be much appreciated if possible, it'd also prove to be invaluable for the future as I have a water leak that I need to track down too!

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 22, 2014]

  3. vr6gordy
    Offline

    vr6gordy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    27
    [May 1, 2013]
    running wires into your boot is so easy all you have to do it remove the bottom half of the rear seat.. you will find a few holes once you remove the lower part of the seat.. you can run wires into your boot then all you need to do is remove the plactic trim that sits at the bottom of your still inside the car and tuck the wires in there...remember power down one side rca and the other
    #2
  4. Amir
    Offline

    Amir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2013]
    Thanks for your reply. The only part I was worrying about was routing the wires at the front end but after some reflection I don't think it will be that hard. I will be getting a copy of elsawin anyway just for reference and I'm sure it will make things a little easier in the future too.

    As for the power and RCA separation, no need to worry there, this isn't your average install ;)

    Audi A4 Avant - 2 15" Fi SP4 - SPL Dynamics D6 - Dual 210a Alts - SPL & Streetbass - Talk Audio
    #3
  5. vr6gordy
    Offline

    vr6gordy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    27
    [May 1, 2013]
    wow is one battery plenty to power that beast think i would run a split charge and have 2 batterys there or even a massive power cap
    #4
  6. Amir
    Offline

    Amir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 2, 2013]
    I have two aftermarket premium AGM batteries in the back with one up front but more importantly I have dual alternators up front that can produce around 500a of power on demand; more than enough ;)
    #5
  7. vr6gordy
    Offline

    vr6gordy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    27
    [May 2, 2013]
    guess your running 0 guage cable then ... maybe whip out the center console and run the wire there ... thats only place you will be able to hide it as its very very thick
    #6
  8. Amir
    Offline

    Amir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2013]
    All the power cable has been run as per the above pic - in total 3 runs of 0 gauge, just some minor wiring needs doing alongside replacing a dodgy pair of RCAs which seem to be inducing some noise.
    #7
  9. dualmono21
    Online

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    61
    [May 3, 2013]
    keep the rca cables as far away as possible from the power wires
    finding access to the interior from the battery tray varies upon model but some dont even have a grommet so its a case of out with the drill im afraid
    some have a grommet underneath the main battery leading into the cabin , others have to use the pollen filter grommet
    if you remove the front seats be carefull with the airbag connectors and make sure youve dissconnected the battery

    front seats then outer trim starting at kickwell on both sides
    you will have to remove the entire length of the vehicle as they all interlock
    then if you want you can remove centre console and lastly carpet
    #8
    Amir likes this.
  10. Amir
    Offline

    Amir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 13, 2013]
    Very helpful. I'll probably strip the lot and see if I can trace my water leak at the same time. I'll update the thread once I've got the job done but thanks again for all your replies.
    #9
  11. vr6gordy
    Offline

    vr6gordy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    27
    [May 13, 2013]
    water leak .. check around the battery in the engine bay drainage holes might be blocked... easy fix find the rubber gromit and remove it
    #10
  12. Amir
    Offline

    Amir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 14, 2013]
    Already done along with some of the door seals. The best way is for me to physically see where the water actually enters in from and then take action.
    #11

Share This Page