1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some help. A3 wiper service position.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by micasb, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. micasb
    Offline

    micasb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 26, 2010]
    Hi there people.

    I need some help from you guys.
    I recently added the new 09 DIS to my 04 A3 8P.
    The thing is when i activate the confort menu in 09 module the wiper doesn't go to service position. Wether i'm using the old method or the option on the DIS...
    I have 09 module rev K and recently added 19 CAN Gateway rev AD thinking it would solve the problem and add more options on the DIS. Options stayed the same as with my 19 module rev B...

    Any ideas on what could be the problem?

    Thanks in advance.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. micasb
    Offline

    micasb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Dec 1, 2010]
    When you service position, you mean verticle? Does the DIS give you the option to park the wipers but they just dont? I have a 2010 cluster but i dont have the option in my DIS for parking the wipers. This might come down the me only having a Rev A CE module. At a guess, it could be the wipermotor module doesnt understand the signals being sent as it was made before the newer way of doing it came out via the DIS?
    #3
  5. micasb
    Offline

    micasb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 1, 2010]
    Yes it gives me the option but they just don't go service position (verticle)...
    They alter the wiper motor module? Isn't the CE module that controls the wipers? Or they just have separate module? I was hoping to get some opinion from someone that got the 2010 DIS with confort menu active on the CE module...
    #4
  6. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Dec 3, 2010]
    The Canbus tells the car what its fitted to the car & the CE dishes out the power for what it fitted. The Wipermotor has its own control module fitted internally, this is what blows when aftermarket xenons are fitted. How did you get on with new wipermotor?
    #5
  7. micasb
    Offline

    micasb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    But do you think the problem of the wipers not going vertical is in the control module of the wiper motor?
    Still haven't received the new wiper motor... Hope this works with the nem wiper system as i have no control mdule left to switch to a newer version :laugh:

    Regards.
    #6
  8. micasb
    Offline

    micasb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 2, 2011]
    Hi there people.

    Problem solved :)
    Just fitted the new wiper motor/control unit a the service position via DIS works perfectly.
    One more problem solved.

    Regards.
    #7

Share This Page