1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need serious help- Spent hundreds even new turbo PICS INSIDE

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by kdotman, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2011]
    So i have a 2.0 tdi bkd engine. REMAPPED with not a very well known tuner
    I had an overboosting turbo which was replaced with a brand new oem turbo.
    Brand new egr valve and imf.
    All whistling and limp mode has gone but when i log the boost, the actual boost is slightley higher.
    It must be the map, n75 or vacuum pipe to turbo?
    Please help
    I dont want to damage the new shiney turbo
    I know there is overshoot but it still isnt settling back to 2300

    BOOST LOG WITH OVERBOOSTING TURBO
    [​IMG]









    AFTER NEW TURBO FITTED!!
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 27, 2014]

  3. jameshughes1974
    Offline

    jameshughes1974 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2011]
    Hi
    Looks ok - your slightly high accross the range but the charge duty is working.
    This is probably your remap but you are never going past the 2.5 bar range so it looks safe.
    If its really bothering you need to log a 100% throttle run in 3rd gear from 1500 ish rpm to the rev limiter(warm engine).
    I bet it never goes past 2500-2600.
    On a seperate note what did you do with the old turbo- I am after one in the spares or repairs catagory
    #2
  4. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2011]
    This was done from 2000 revs to redline in 4th gear
    I sold the old one on ebay sorry, if i knew earlier i would have sold it to you
    2601 is the maximum vagcom reads
    If the duty cycles good it must be the map or vacuum leak?
    As long as its not damaging ill leave the map on
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
    #3
  5. jameshughes1974
    Offline

    jameshughes1974 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2011]
    Yep leave the map on.
    Its sticky vnt vanes or long term boost leaks that seem to finish these.
    The bkd vacuum pipes seem a lot more durable than the old style cloth covered ones - i doubt you have a vacumm leak.
    If you did have a leak it would feel gutless low down then take off 2500-3000 rpm onwards - your actual boost v requested looks pretty well matched at low revs.
    #4
  6. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2011]
    Yeah must be the map. It still pulls like a train!!!
    There was a slight dry oil residue on the boost pipe connecting to the intercooler, IS that normal?
    Im gonna go stock just to make sure 100% and maybe go with a reputable company
    thanks
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
    #5
  7. jameshughes1974
    Offline

    jameshughes1974 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2011]
    Yes the Audi boost pipes leak oil from the intercooler connector. It is normal as it's just oil mist from the crank and cam case breathers. Its a common enough question on this forum. Nobody is that impressed with the way these pipes join. The y should have stuck with the jubilee clips
    #6
  8. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2011]
    This is the graph btw with the NEW turbo
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
    #7
  9. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2011]
    Just wondering why is the actual boost always floating above specified even before flooring it. Is this all to do with the map since i put a new turbo and duty cycle is good.
    #8
  10. jameshughes1974
    Offline

    jameshughes1974 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2011]
    My turbo is a bit whistly so probably not a good example to log otherwise I would do a comparison
    #9
  11. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2011]
    Yeah thanks, It supposed to overshoot for a second but it should definately settle close to 2300 not 2550 ish
    I thought the map is requesting less so how can it be that?
    #10
  12. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2011]
    Does anyone else have any ideas why its always floating above it by 300mbar
    Please i dont want to kill my new turbo
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
    #11
  13. markie A3
    Offline

    markie A3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 3, 2011]
    If your old turbo was a hybrid, ?? and your map was set up around the hybrid, its just a thought!
    #12
  14. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2011]
    The old turbo was the original turbo.
    I remapped a generic remap with a not very well known tuner
    What could be causing the difference in boosts??
    #13
  15. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 4, 2011]
    I guess no one else knows
    #14
  16. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 4, 2011]
    Drive up a long hill see what happens
    #15
  17. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 4, 2011]
    Just went up the hill twice where it usually goes into limp mode and it doesnt :))
    But why is it still floating above the requested and settling higher?
    #16
  18. kdotman
    Offline

    kdotman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2011]
    ANYBODY!!!?
    #17
  19. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Apr 8, 2011]
    Just a thought but why don't you go to the turbo man or the mapping man for advice ?

    Doesn't seem like anyone else on here knows the answer !!

    Or, even better, go to a mapping man that has a reputation for knowing what he's doing rather than a relatively unknown (and cheaper presumably ? ) alternative!!
    #18

Share This Page