1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help with Rear LED Side Lights Issue

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by degraffb, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I have a 2009 A3 and I did the halogen to Bi-xenon+LED retrofit using the kufatec harness. I needed to wire in the leads from that harness into the CEM at the following locations: Plug A, pin 5 and 7 then Plug D pin 6 and 10. When installing the Kufatec leads I had to remove two factory leads at Plug A pin 7 and plug D pin 10. Well after doing the correct coding everything on the xenon headlights is working perfectly. My issue is those two factory leads I had to remove are for the rear LEDs in the tail lights, so now they don't function. Does anyone know where the rear tail light LED leads should be wired into for proper function?
    #1
  2. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    396
    are you now sure that the pins removed are for the rear LEDs? as last time we spoke you said you will check?
    #2
  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You need to consult elsawin & make sure it wasnt a shared pin location.
    #3
  4. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I removed the pins for the LED DRLs on the kufa loom and put the original pins back in the same location and the rear LEDs lit up. Currently, cause I don't want to roll around without rear leds, I wired the rear LEDs into the location for one of the three rear brake lights and programmed it in vagcom to be on all the time when the parking lights or headlights is selected on the headlight switch.

    This is just weird to me because the location Plug A pin 7 and Plug D pin 10 was the location of the rear LEDs before recode, then the kufa loom has me wiring the headlight LED DRLs there and after programming in vagcom the front DRLs work as they should. So basically if recoding changed the location for the front DRLs on the CEM shouldn't there be a new unused location for the rear tail lights?

    Oh and I forgot to mention that I have no error codes...
    #4
  5. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, okay. I was wondering if that was something that Audi does. Well I don't have elsawin, so if someone could be kind enough to provide that info I'd really appreciate it.
    #5
  6. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    396
    i will look it up for you later. i am just updating my Elsa today with a new DVD so should be able to get back to you in the evening.
    #6
  7. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    396
    right mate so looking at ELSA for a 09 plate car, it shows that the DRLs should be plugged into

    Left DRL: T11b/8 - Plug A pin 8
    Right: T11c/9 - Plug D pin 9

    try those and see what happens - you may have to replace the existing wiring for it/ add onto the existing wiring as it also shows these pins use by the rear LEDs

    the Rear LEDs use

    T11b/7 & T11b/8 - Left
    T11c/9 & T11c/10 - Right
    #7
  8. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, to make sure I'm reading this right T11b=Plug A and T11c=Plug D?

    And thanks for looking this up for me![​IMG]
    #8
  9. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    396
    yes that's right

    no problem mate, happy to help
    (hit the thanks button under the thread :p)
    #9
  10. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, got a chance to try this stuff out and here is what I run into. I put the front DRL wires into plug A/pin 8 and plug D/pin 9. Reconnected the wires for the rear LEDs into Plug A/pin 7 and plug D/pin 10. This resulted in the rear LEDs working but they also came on as soon as I put the headlight switch to "DRL". The front DRLs did not come on at all, thus there must be no power flowing through Plug A pin 8 and plug D pin 9.

    So, any ideas from here?:uhm:
    #10
  11. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    396
    ok so i would say its probably coding, as far as Elsa is concerned thats the pins it says it should be. you could of course just wire the DRLs into Plug A/pin 7 and plug D/pin 10 and the Rear LEDs to plug A/pin 8 and plug D/pin 9 and try that way?

    also do you know if you have Scandinavian or American DRL set up?
    #11
  12. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, well I ordered the Ross-tech cable and it won't be here until wednesday so I'll have to wait on the coding end. Originally I went down to my local shop to have the coding done and went back there when I realized my rear LEDs weren't working thinking it was a coding mistake we made. We actually left the North American DRL set up on, but honestly it won't matter to me as long as I have the full function of both fronts and rears.

    I did end up leaving the wires that way. DRL are in A/7 and D/10 (working correctly, no faults) and the leads for the rears are in A/8 and D/9 (not working currently/no fault code). Another thing I was thinking, isn't the fog lights that most inner tail light located on the hatch door? The reason I ask is because I don't have the European light switch to us them but in the VCDS i can activate them to be tail lights when the headlight switch is at parking lights and headlights on. So if coding didn't work to activate A/8 D/9 and I can locate the pin location for those hatch lights, I could make that work.
    #12
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Should of asked me yesterday mate & you'd have a genuine 1 today, oh well.
    #13
  14. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even over here in Oregon, USA??? I would definitely be nice if I had someone with your skills over here, then I wouldn't even need it...
    #14
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    LMFAO good point lol.
    #15
  16. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    396
    so i was looking into this issue and i found out that you need to join the DRL wires with the wires on the rear LED tails in pins
    Plug A pin 8 and Plug D pin 9.

    might be a case of strip and solder wires for this.
    #16
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220

    Huuuuhhhhh hurrrrmmmmm sorry had something stuck in my throat lmfao
    #17
  18. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    396
    LOOL!!! nice one nigel!
    #18
  19. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I got my VCDS today and I'm going to try and recode these and I'll report back. So frustrating that I lost the rear leds to pick up the headlight leds...I hope this works.

    edit: just saw what you wrote two days ago...Maybe I'll sacrifice one of the three rear brake bulbs for a power supply and code it to be on all the time when parking lights or headlights are selected on the headlight switch...
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2011
    #19
  20. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ash,

    Can you do me another really small favor. If you get some time, I'm looking for the location of the pins that control the brake lights on the most inner part of the rear lights. You know the part that is on the hatch of the car?
    #20
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    There are no inner pins atm, you have to link inners with outers & run through the grommets for oem connections, although some cheat with kufacrap & use the number plate wiring, but I always wire oem as circuits are designed for a certain load.
    #21

Share This Page