1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with changing my impulse sensor!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mark Hopkins, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Mark Hopkins
    Offline

    Mark Hopkins AUDI S3, REVO MAPPED 260 bhp

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    hi guys,i am trying to put on a new impulse sensor on my s3, but it is turning out to be very fiddly!!! there doesn't seem to be alot of room to move, and as you can't see the bolt that goes through it, it makes it more difficult.
    do i need to remove the turbo boost pipe, or the oil filter to create more space, and does anybody know what kind of bolt it is attached with.
    your help would be much appreciated.
    thanx
    mark
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. S3 Paul
    Offline

    S3 Paul Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    75
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    Im not sure what you mean by impulse sensor... where is it?
    #2
  4. Mark Hopkins
    Offline

    Mark Hopkins AUDI S3, REVO MAPPED 260 bhp

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    it comes up on the vag com as a g28 engine speed sensor, and is located by the side of the oil filter.
    #3
  5. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    Crank position sensor. It's just a pig to do. Should be a 10mm head with a 5mm allen socket too. So you can use either a rachet spanner or a ball head allen key. When I last swapped mine I went at it from below, but I don't have the incercooler cross pipe. I didn't remove the filter either. You will have to break it to get it out once the bolt is removed. They are always stuck tight. I used a panel fork to get it out.
    #4
  6. Mark Hopkins
    Offline

    Mark Hopkins AUDI S3, REVO MAPPED 260 bhp

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    thanks HTC:thumbsup:

    round 2 tommorow!! lol
    #5
  7. TchBle614
    Offline

    TchBle614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 25, 2009]
    Hey guys, I have had my 03' Audi A4 Quattro for a little under a year and I am new to the world of car repair. Saw this thread and was wondering if you guys could tell me if there is anything special to changing the cam position sensor on a 2003 A4 Quattro 3.0. I want to learn to do it myself and not pay a mechanic a ton of money!

    Thanks
    #6

Share This Page