1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need HELP now please :-(

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by Paul1982, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. Paul1982
    Offline

    Paul1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    Hi guys,

    Bought a 2004 allroad with the Audi Navigation Plus (big screen) satnav and there was no disc in it.
    So borrowed my mates RS4 2006 Disc and first of all it said 'Installing updates'. Once finished its again ask for software disc.
    Took the disc out and tried again but nothing.
    THEN - turned the engine off and now the whole unit will not even start!!!!!!!!!!

    What have I done????

    Paul
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 21, 2014]

  3. Paul1982
    Offline

    Paul1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    Just to confirm - just pulling the unit out and its a RNS-E
    Now have the power back but its only saying 'Insert Software CD' and no radio etc either
    #2
  4. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    Are you using a copied or genuine disk? The second software update is normal, but I'm guessing there is a fault with disk you are using, you need to try another disk of the same year.
    #3
  5. Paul1982
    Offline

    Paul1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    Its was a genuine audi disc that also says RNS-E on it - but surely cos its got newer maps it shouldnt stop all the power to the rest of the funtions??
    #4
  6. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    It's waiting on the second software update, without that there is no software loaded to run the functions, so at the moment the unit is a nice looking brick, you need another disk of the same year. I've had this twice before and inserting another disk of the same year fixed this error.

    The rns-e disks don't just have maps on them, they also have firmware/software updates for the rns-e
    #5
  7. Paul1982
    Offline

    Paul1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    Ah right - is there someone in the south wales area with this I can borrow for a second then?
    OR is there a website link I can create my own disc too????
    #6
  8. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    If it's a 2006 disk then look on eBay, don't think you would pay anything more than £10
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011
    #7

Share This Page