1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Navigation worth it?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Els, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. Els
    Offline

    Els Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2010]
    Hi guys,

    I am currently looking for an S3 and my requirements are pretty hard to satisfy!

    The main reason for me wanting the sat nav is I think it makes the dash look so much better :)

    What is the actual sat nav like to use? And can you still have the Bose option with sat nav?

    Also any pictures of peoples set-ups would be great!

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. ben_turbo1
    Offline

    ben_turbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2010]
    I've got the sat nav and bose so guess you can still have bose as an option.
    As far as the sat nav goes i've heard its pretty **** compared to the modern units you can get but my CD is knackered so ive never used it. I love having the freeview linked up to it though.
    #2
  4. Els
    Offline

    Els Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2010]
    Good to know you can still get the Bose.

    Is the Freeview a OE option or did you have it installed? Have you got any pictures of it showing the Freeview etc?

    Cheers mate.
    #3
  5. ben_turbo1
    Offline

    ben_turbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2010]
    Don't think it is an OE option but I do know mine is after market, its also been set up so you can watch it while the car is in motion which is neat (for listening to footie results on sky sports news). I think you can get normal tv as an OE option though.
    Not got any pictures of it at the mo but will sort one out soon for you. The quality is prett good.
    #4
  6. S3 Nattie
    Offline

    S3 Nattie Quattro ist für sissies

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 31, 2010]
    How did you install the freeview
    #5
  7. dela
    Offline

    dela Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. S3 Nattie
    Offline

    S3 Nattie Quattro ist für sissies

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 31, 2010]
    Just had a look at the the link. Just wondering how does that receiver connect to the sat nav unit, are the RCA in use as I was thinking I could use them to connect my ipod to the sat nav.
    #7
  9. ben_turbo1
    Offline

    ben_turbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 1, 2010]
    Sorry it was installed when I got the car, but i know it uses a simular box to the one in that link.
    #8
  10. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 1, 2010]
    simular? is this a disease mispelling 'simular' haha, see other posts

    *edited due to mispelling of 'mispselling* :/
    #9

Share This Page