1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Navigation system 2007 S3..HELP!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by avvy786, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. avvy786

    avvy786 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im just joined this forum so new to this...

    Just bought my 57 REG Audi S3 in Deep Sea Blue lovely leather interior...
    THe car is amazing only downside is that the one i got has the cd player with the 6 cds u can load into it...

    im after the sat nav screen..have looked on ebay and seen them for between £450 to £600..

    Question i had was is the navigation system easy to install...and also confused about the way it woks as im assuming the navigation system is gna need the map cd to read the mao so is that tellin me that i cant have navigation and music on at the same time

    Will be uploading pictures of my S3 this week :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    do you mean the 6 cd go into the head unit or into a multi changer in the glovebox?

    If you have a glovebox multichanger it can be connected to the sat nav (RNS-E) but it also has 2 slots for SD cards so you can keep the sat nav dvd in & still listen to choice of music. If you get the MK2 RNS-E it also has better support for the ipod & has higher resolution screen & faster processor. It can be recognised by the gloss black surround and the TV button now says media though you will find the unit dearer than your looking at.
     
  4. bdavbdav

    bdavbdav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    It may seem like more effort at first, but CDs on to the SD cards is the way to go - even with the old unit (I think max 2GB cards), you'll fit about 10-20 CD rips on each card.
     
  5. wez3570

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    A mk2 unit is the way to go. Either gloss or Matt surround, if it has the 'media' button it's a mk2.

    Retrofit can be tricky, some DIY, some NHN.

    NHN (Nigel) on this forum is the retrofit/coding guy, he comes highly recommended by many members.
     
  6. Rhymesaka

    Rhymesaka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Congrats on the car, you need to hit Nigel up as has been said.....
     
  7. PaulAr

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073
    Likes Received:
    181
    You will need an FM antenna upgrade kit too.
    These are around £150.

    Paul
     
  8. avvy786

    avvy786 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks for replies...
    yeh its the 6 cds that you load into the head unit...
    the navigation screens is the one that allows media cards to slot in...so luks like im gna have to use the cd drive for the navigation system as i dont have the cd changer in the glove compartment but do have an ipod connector which im still tryin to work out how to make it come on throuhg the head unit...

    but thanks for replies appreciated...
    atleast i know where to get help if i ever needed it :)
     
  9. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have the my11 nav iPod integration which is useless and i don't use. Go AMI if you want anything like that... Or just use the SDHC slots
     
  10. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    The traitors back :p

    Think more nearer to £200 mate for antenna fix parts.

    Nice to see you posting still Paulus

    [​IMG]

    Forget cd's mate, if you go for an rns, rip them to mp3 & stick on sd cards, allot less hassle & show track names etc.

    Ipod unit shows up as a cd changer, doesnt show any track info, so if you select external changer from the head unit it will connect to the changer port which is your ipod interface, tbh its **** but alas.

    If you need an installer, give me a shout.
     
  11. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    54
    ????? You sure mate. I done the upgrade from symphony 2 over to Mk2 RNS-e, and did not need no FM antenna upgrade, and i get perfect FM and AM reception wherever I go. Only thing I needed was an iso to quadlock converter and diversity adapter for FM/AM connection, as my A3 is "56" 2006. But I'm sure on "07" and most definately "57" plates it is a straight swap with a bit of coding and obviously the installation of the sat antenna, which most put on top of the glove box.
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    100% sure, yours is an earlier antenna system which is compatible with adapter used, it changed in late 06-07 onwards.
     
  13. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    54
    Thanks for heads up Nige, as they say "you learn all the time".
    So the answer to everyone is, if you want to upgrade to an RNS-e then do not buy an A3 which is 2007 or onwards!! HAHAHAHA :icon_thumright:
    AUDI so good but yet so awkward!!
     
  14. PaulAr

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073
    Likes Received:
    181
    Still about sometimes Nige.
    Yeah, bought my kit used so it was cheap, £130 iirc.

    Damn I look good in a `kini:o.k:
     

Share This Page