1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Navigation Plus RNS-D Problem

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by Sully79, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. Sully79
    Offline

    Sully79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Hi all, new to this. My RNS-D is picking up 0 satellites, checked forums and the majority of people were saying it's def the GPS antenna so bought a hockey puck antenna, hooked it up but no joy. Bought this A6 around 6 months ago and the satnav was never working on it but only got round to having a proper look at it and can't find a whole lot of info on the internet about the RNS-D. Had a look at the software version and it seems to be up to date according to info I got on the net. Does anyone have any advice about where I go from here. Thanks in advance.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    I would chuck it and get the later RNS-E DVD based sat nav unit.
    #2
  4. Sully79
    Offline

    Sully79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    I would love to because it seems everyone has nothing but good to say about the RNS-E but as I'd be only using it for long journeys which is not very often I don't think it would be justified buying a whole new system. I was hoping it was something as simple as the antenna but no such luck and thanks for the rapid reply B5NUT.
    #3
  5. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    It could be a bad connection inside the unit, take the top off and have a look. Another option would be to get a working unit off ebay, they don't fetch much £100 ish.
    #4
  6. Sully79
    Offline

    Sully79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Didn't realise they were that cheap, I suppose that justifies your 1st comment, ha ha. Will have to look out for a cheap 1 just to prove if it is or not the unit. Thanks.
    #5
  7. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    that's for a used RNS-D the RNS-E will be around 300-400 depending on condition.
    #6
  8. Sully79
    Offline

    Sully79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Cheapest I could find was £230. I have a friend with another A6 so if he has the same unit as me i could try his unit i suppose to check it out. Will prob end up blowing his unit aswell, ha ha.
    #7
  9. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    #8
  10. Sully79
    Offline

    Sully79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Ya was looking at that aswell but it's described as only the screen and disk drive is working, want to make sure it's def the unit before i take it apart.
    #9
  11. Kelza
    Offline

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    371
  12. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 7, 2011]
    Will not fit an A6
    #11

Share This Page