1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nav freezing up

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Brookie-S3, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. Brookie-S3

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi only had my car a few weeks, ex-demo
    and twice now the nav screen has froze, it wont let you do anything, put map on, change to cd, change tracks etc etc?

    any help before i book it into the dealers ?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Eeef

    Eeef Lord of War

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a TomTom:sex:
     
  4. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    What software version are you running? Have you tried re-booting it?
     
  5. Brookie-S3

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have tom tom, but wanted a car with it in ?
    where do i find out what version it is?
     
  6. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    press the CAR button then go into whatever menu appears.

    should say SW ver and HW ver.

    Latest SW is 0650 which you can get from this post.

    when the unit freezes press and hold the radio and setup buttons for 5 seconds to reset.
     
  7. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Press the CAR button then select VERSION.

    Mine used to lock up now and again with SW0600 but since updating to 0650 I have not had the problem again (So far anyway!)
     
  8. bacardi

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    wonder if Audi will ever let people upgrade their own software, would be quite cool
     
  9. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can update your software version.
     
  10. bacardi

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    what, jsut of the sat nav, or the whole car? I'm interested in the updates they make to the car itself
     
  11. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Of the nav unit. thats the only place the nav software is 'stored'.

    What updates to the car?

    You may get the odd ECU update if you have an issue or problem with how the engine runs.

    There are no nav updates for the car itself.
     
  12. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    You just put in the new map DVD and it updates the SW automatically.
     
  13. bacardi

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeha, I mean ECU updates etc, I would imagine there are a fair few of these kicking around
     
  14. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    I doubt there are a lot. Audi will tell you if your car needs one. It's not like your missing out on anything!
     
  15. bacardi

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking at the sheer number of software releases for pretty much anything electronic I'd be suprised, to think my A3 is 3 years old and Audi have not fixed any bugs is a bit of a stretch to me, I guess the dealer may update the software during routine servicing but I very much doubt it
     
  16. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    What bugs do you have that need fixing?

    If an update is available/needed then you should get it no problem, I did for mine. Can't say there is any difference to driving it though.
     
  17. bacardi

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    None that I'm aware of, but I'd like to think that if there'd been a 1000/1 chance of an airbag deploying, or a seatbelt pre tensioner firing itself off, or the engine going into limp home mode i could upgrade the software

    Seeings as you can mod the software of an ECU with a bluefin, I was just wondering if Audi would do the same themselves
     

Share This Page