1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MY11 RNS-E SDHC CARD - ERROR!

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by NICK-C, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Aug 31, 2010]
    Hi Guys,

    Have just got my self a 32gb SDHC card (Class 2). Decided to go for a Sandisk as I have used them in the past and wanted a decent brand. At first Windows Vista didn't recognise the card so tried XP & was fine so formatted it (FAT32) dropped some MP3's in put it in the car and it said "Data Corrupt"!
    I found an old SD card at home so put the same MP3's on it and it worked fine!
    In the user manual it says SD, SDHC and MMC up to 32gb will work. It does however say that class 4 and above works best/faster, is it because I have class 2 or is it just that is does not support 32gb?

    Thanks,
    Nick
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. 148KPT
    Offline

    148KPT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2010]
    I have MY10 RNS-E and works fine with 2 x Kingston SDHC 32GB Class 4.

    Kevin
    #2
  4. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Sep 1, 2010]
    Thanks Kevin,

    Maybe it is because mine is class 2 then, will try and get another one on the way home later and see if it works.
    #3
  5. Shane-Ireland
    Offline

    Shane-Ireland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 1, 2010]
    Hi guys relative newby here,i was under the impression that SDHC cards just didnt work withthe RNS E,what does MY donate when you guys say MY10 and MY11? how do i find out what mine is lol and will SDHC cards work? be great to have 2x32gb cards in my RNS E.
    #4
  6. 148KPT
    Offline

    148KPT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 2, 2010]
    Shane MY stands for model year , only the later models (i think it is MY10 onwards) support cards over 2Gb, upto 32Gb.
    #5
  7. Shane-Ireland
    Offline

    Shane-Ireland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 2, 2010]
    Ah makes sense,i have 2 4gb standard SD cards with no issues,standard SD cards are like gold dust these days its all SD HC :(

    Thanks for that 148KPT
    #6
  8. latta1989
    Offline

    latta1989 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 2, 2010]
    Hi,
    im in the process of retro-fitting my rns-e which is part number 8P0 035 193 B therefore MY2010.
    This unit will work with up to 32gd SDHC cards then?
    And also, what is this about formatting FAT32?
    Sorry just dont know what that means...
    Thanks
    #7
  9. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Sep 3, 2010]
    I assume it should work and in my user manual is does state is supports SDHC upto 32gb.

    FAT32 is an old file system for hard drives, sd cards etc which did only go up to 32gb and I think now most PC hard drives etc are NTFS. However, you can get software that formats FAT32 above 32gb, I have a bigger drive in my PS3 (FAT32) which I formatted to 300GB.
    #8
  10. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Sep 3, 2010]
    Popped into Tesco on me way home and bought a 4GB SDHC Class 4 card, wanted a bigger one but they were out of stock. Put it in the car and it said "reading card" and then "card empty" which is promising as the other card just said data corrupt so will get some music on it and try tomorrow. If so I think it must be down to the class and will get an 8gb or 16gb next and see what happens.
    #9
  11. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 4, 2010]
    I've got the new RNS-E with the gloss black surround, I've not tried any SD cards yet so I'll give it a go.
    #10
  12. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Sep 6, 2010]
    Thanks Stu, after trying the 4gb SDHC Class 4 it worked but skipped loads of tracks and only played certain ones. Assume it is down to the bitrate or something?!? I have decided now to get an MP3 player and use the dock in the glovebox!
    #11
  13. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    So far i've tested SD cards @ 2GB. First I formatted them on my Mac but for windows and they didn't work. Then I formatted them on my mac but in a windows environment, still didn't work. Formatted on my Windows Netbook and it's all good.

    I think the larger knob/pushbutton on my RNS is knackered, sometimes it's really difficult to use.

    Do you have folding mirrors Nick??
    #12
  14. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    I have decided to get an mp3 player instead now as have given up on the SD cards!

    Yes Stu I have folding mirrors.
    #13
  15. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    Do yours both open/close at the same speed?? My drivers one is distinctly slower than the passenger one.

    Also my Parcel Shelf seems to bounce quite a bit which is annoying, my other S3 has some rubber stoppers in the tailgate that prevented this.
    #14
  16. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    Lol yes mate the drivers side is slower, a bit weird and I think the passengers side closes further too! It's a shame they don't open and close when you unlock/lock the doors though.

    Parcel shelf seems OK to me, better than the Astra anyway.
    #15
  17. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    My dealer called me as a courtesy follow up and I mentioned it. They transferred me to the Service Manager who said it would be a warranty change on the mirror.

    Strange you have the same issue.
    #16
  18. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 11, 2010]
    The mirror issue has been around since the inception of the 8P, usually they either update door module firmware, change the module & possibly mirror itself, dealer dependent, but it is a known issue to the dealers.

    I actually updated my mirrors to the newer dumbo of MY08 onwards & also with the very latest door modules & rewired accordingly, since installing these I've had no issues, but also with my testing it seems to be power related, so I found if you fold when engine is running, it is allot better in comparison to when its of.

    Also the mirrors are at different angles anyway, they're not at equal angles for lhd & rhd, trust me measured & tested numerous times as I also wondered why they looked slightly of eachother, stupid idea tbh as I the angles obtained with equal mirrors are perfectly sufficient for road use.

    I have the new black gloss surround unit, they're identical to the MK2 non gloss surround which I also had & that is the only difference & yes these mk2/mk2.5 units are a little picky with sdhc type cards, just use a higher class card & format it correctly & should work fine, no need for a seperate mp3 player, the units work perfectly well if using the correct cards.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2010
    #17

Share This Page