1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my last question regarding my maf sensor

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by 4rings, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. 4rings

    4rings Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok asked a few questions about this and got good feedback. so thank you :)

    my last question is this. and ill problaby sound like a tit for asking but there you go.

    i am going to by the correct cleaning spray and remove the maf sensor and try cleaning it up. as the chap at amd said it was only runing about 85%

    SO. i do the claning then take it for a drive e.t.c but how will i actually no if cleaning it has done the trick??

    i would of course take it back to amd but its a good 100 mile drive and i dont want to go all that way just to be tested for that. i no he took the car out after it was remaped and plugged his laptop in. but thats all i no. is this something that can be tested at audi?? (i do have a good freind who works for vw so i can get it "plugged in" for free


    thanks rob.b
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    You can test it with Vagcom, which you presumably dont have, but perhaps if you post your location someone nearby from the forum might have it and can do some logs.
     
  4. DaveA3

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    15
    ur vw mate can plug it in for you
     
  5. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    121
    How can it be functioning 85%? lol. It's a bit of a wild estimate that - you would have to know what the output of a working MAF on that engine would be to work it out.

    You will need to log it, not just plug it in. Check the VCDS users map in the sticky and see if you can find a local ASNer who has VCDS.
     
  6. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    i took it to mean that at full power its showing about 85% of the airflow that it should be.
     
  7. 4rings

    4rings Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    well im just going by what the chap at amd said really. thanks for the help ppl :) xx
     

Share This Page