1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My I.T Manager

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by audinary, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. audinary

    audinary Complete And Utter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    Collared me this morning. He was looking at my browser cache history, they're doing a productivity / appropriate web use thingy at the moment. Well, he has to be paid for something.

    He took me to one side and quietly asked me why I had made so many searches for "vag".

    He was fine when I pointed to my car, and demonstrated I wasn't looking for more gyneocological content....
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,060
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    lmfao thats a good one, lmao, dont know which software they have on desktop/server but maybe time for logmein on your home machine & remote that & then no issues with them knowing your search stuff or others unless they have key loggers, but doubt it.
     
  4. sam4191

    sam4191 If In doubt, Flat out!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4

    HAHA!!! My god that's funny!!!! :haha::beerchug:
     
  5. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,552
    Likes Received:
    640
    Firefox Portable and "empty cache and search history on exit" required!
     
  6. SonicDeathmonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    As an I.T person, I think it's fair to say your best bet is to google browser p0rn mode. Thats p0rn with a Zero.

    Most new browsers have it...
     
  7. stapo69

    stapo69 All hail the mighty quattro!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    1
    lmao!
     
  8. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,133
    Likes Received:
    13
  9. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,552
    Likes Received:
    640
    Enabling all the "flush cache on exit" modes of firefox will work just as well as porn mode.

    Firefox 3.5, IE8 and Chrome all have a similar Porn mode, but i recon that its a safer bet to simply stop it ever caching anything, than having to specifically turn on the porn mode when you want to procrastinate.

    Also bear in mind that a lot of companies will use proxy servers, especially if they're larger, both to control browsing (ie stop you getting to porn sites) and to limit the bandwidth going out over their net connection. Regardless of what options you select in the browser, or whether or not you use porn mode, in that situation they can still log everything your doing, as it all has to pass thru their proxy to get to the internet.
     
  10. audinary

    audinary Complete And Utter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    .....I feel I should emphasise, I wasn't actually looking for pr0n.... I'd never. Ever. Do that.... My eyesight is bad enough already.
     
  11. Spy

    Spy Carmaniac

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think the cache matters.

    In most companies, all your internet access goes through a proxy which both logs each users activity and blocks inappropriate sites !
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,060
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Chances are though admin has poss locked him out of the menus to flush the history etc if running of a domain, maybe not, worth a try though, flush those bad boys.

    Also Audinary, course you dont look at porn, it just pops up on your screen, lmfao, redtube rules, lol
     
  13. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,552
    Likes Received:
    640
    Thats why i initially suggested Firefox Portable.

    You can usually stick it in your user documents area, and run it from there.

    The problem though is the proxy server that most companies will run, and even if there seems like theres no proxy, they could easily be transparently proxying the http calls so you'd never know.
     
  14. SonicDeathmonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are ways and means, of course, if you really, really want to get around proxy servers....

    Far be it from me to suggest that you use a proxy site, such as http://www.bind2.com.... If I wanted to p0rn myself in work, I'd use something like this though.

    I have recently been involved in writting a reverse-proxy. All interesting, if somewhat geeky, stuff.
     
  15. dieselfitter251

    dieselfitter251 Blow ma own trumpet?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny as F**k.'!!!!!!!!!!!
    I used to work for a leading high street bank that has since been recently shafted up by a large black horse. Pre XP we had total lock down, nothing beyond estate agency sites etcs. Post migration, I've sold cars, bought PC's, arranged the purchase, closure and sale of my house and set up my account here! The only porn I got invlolved in was kitchen prawn for my new house. Thank god for John Lewis on line........
    [​IMG]

    oooooh, 4 slice, auto shut off with bagel feature... brush me with butter and call me a scone.
     

Share This Page