1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my HID kit dont fit :(

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ALPINE, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    bulbs wont fit on the holes :( my after market lights must not be H4 :(
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,777
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    I would bet its H1 on them lights mate
    #2
  4. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,851
    Likes Received:
    350
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    does it have seperate mains and high beams?

    Standard facelift headlamps use H7 for main and high, as did the old pre-facelift bosch units i had fitted originally.
    #3
  5. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    222
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    Was just about to say the same as above. Don't think you have H4's in the lights you have.

    I know my standard pre facelift lamps were H4 but my facelift items are H7 for the Hi and low beams
    #4
  6. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,851
    Likes Received:
    350
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    oranoco i presume you pre-facelift lamps were without fogs?

    Seems that the ones with fogs built in had H7's and a H1 for the fog and ones without had H4's
    #5
  7. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    222
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    Yeah, no fogs on mine mate. Still don't have foglights now either lol, another thing for the "to do" list
    #6
  8. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    Yep i have seperate high beam etc. Propper pissed today.. my new vista Pc wont work properly (no suprise there) my dump valve aint turned up, and my HID kit will not fit!! MMMEEHHHH!!!!
    #7
  9. diesel-a4
    Offline

    diesel-a4 Stoned As Fuk

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    i have a 98 A4 pro face lift i believe and am after new lights - point me in the correct way folks.

    the just fronts for now, incl lamps. whole kit am after for the front
    #8
  10. andybnwc
    Offline

    andybnwc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    alot of the aftermarket lights seem to be H1 for some reason
    #9
  11. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    :( gutted wanted hids for ages! can ya get H1 hid kits?
    #10
  12. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    you bought a Vista PC!? well that explains your lights,
    those things will infect your life with badness!!
    #11
  13. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    had no choice mate!! needed a new pc and ya cant buy a xp pc any more! :( i got Acer commin round to fit a new mother bored as they think mines faulty!
    #12
  14. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,851
    Likes Received:
    350
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    TBH vista really isnt that bad. Its a bit different and it needs a decent amount of RAM to run nicely but then XP was exactly the same when it was released.

    The problem however is that a lot of companies are selling it on machines that basically cant run it properly. Mainly because Microsoft has discontinued XP and therefore only Vista is available for new machines, regardless of their capabilites.

    Any vista machine needs 2gb of ram to run nicely, and i'd also recommend a dual core CPU as a minimum.

    At the end of the day, if you try to run XP on a P3 with 128mb ram (which were still being sold when it was released) it'll also run like a sack of ****!

    Seems in this case its actually a hardware failure anyway, so not vistas fault at all!
    #13
  15. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    my pc is a intel dual core Duo, 3.60ghz each so thats 7200 total cpu power!

    3k ram.

    i think its just bad luck tbh.. theres always a runt of the littler and i think i ended up with it!! just my luck init!! lol
    #14
  16. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    I can supply you with XP at the weekend IT hapens to be my bread and butter :) Motherboards are common on Acer i have replace a couple for friends they are very good PCs though :)

    Also 4gb RAM min in Vista PC i recommend i have it and it just works how i would like it ;)
    #15
  17. andybnwc
    Offline

    andybnwc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    yes you can get H1 bulbs and kits there usually cheaper than the hi lo H4 kits too
    #16
  18. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    cool mate.. ill keep that in mind... ill give vista another go after new m/board! if its still a C**t ill be on your case!
    #17
  19. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    np make sure you have the service packs installed for vista as well they take an age to install but they do actually make some changes.
    #18
  20. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    Yep you can get H1 HID bulbs for your kit, you can get them fron ebay i think they are around £40 for a pair of bulbs. Just make sure they have the right connectors on for your kit, i think they are quite generic.
    #19
  21. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    I have just got a macbook blows the PC out of the water, still use PC's on a daily and have them at home but lovin the Mac experience
    #20

Share This Page