1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Gauge shows -5 vac at idle

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Kodak, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    My Gauge shows -5 vac at idle it used to show -14 i found a small leak in the gauge hose and replaced it and now it read -5 at idle?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. jay1601

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    38
    either a incorrect gauge or vac leak somewhere.

    mine sits at -20
     
  4. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    thought as much well best get to it any suggestions where to look first. and how the hell are you getting 34.2mpg lol im lucky if I get 22
     
  5. jay1601

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    38
    not always driving on boost lol.

    average mpg 34.2
    last mpg 29.2
    best mpg 40.2
     
  6. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    well I found a leak on the connection to the gauge and fixed that now im reading -15 does this mean I have another leak?
     
  7. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    18
    I think mine reads about -15 and I don't have a leak.
     
  8. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    holy sh1t I just found another connecting to the brake servo and found an article on about it on tyresmoke aparnetly its only common with APY blocks Audi S3 8L 210 APY Brake Vacuum Hose repair not sure if its ok to link to another forum if not ill remove it Regards
     
  9. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,390
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Mine is around -14 and no leaks.
     
  10. Tim_Attard

    Tim_Attard Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    43
    mine is about -0.7/-0.8 bar so thats about 10-11 psi should i check for a leak? or would it just be the guage isnt that accurate (got a cheapy)
     
  11. Yohan87

    Yohan87 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Mine shows -20 (no leaks) and if I'm driving then let it coast it shows about -22/-23. Newsouth gauge if that makes any difference.
     
  12. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    I haven't replaced the brake servo vacuum line yet but im getting -15 and like you say about coasting I was getting -23-25
     
  13. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    736
    If mine doesn't sit at -20 in hg i know i have a leak..
     
    phil miller likes this.
  14. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi now its not dumping boost why!? its one thing after the next i did notice that it had an aftermarket DV its a Forge Split R any ideas before i get someone to go in to the back of me and write it off "kidding"
     
  15. s3gazz

    s3gazz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    98
    Mine sits at -25
     
  16. Yohan87

    Yohan87 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Get rid of the Split-R valve, it's pretty much an expensive boost leak.
     
  17. Tim_Attard

    Tim_Attard Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    43
    hi id fit an orginal dv to see if it cures it HOWEVER saying this i have a split r and just measured my vac with torque and getting between 22-26
     
  18. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    so go for OE original dump valve? actually I think ill fix the brake servo vacuum line first to see if that sorts the vac problem maybe not enough vac to operarate the dv
     
    #17 Kodak, Apr 3, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
  19. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Update ive been to Audi and ordered the parts i wouldnt care but after paying for them and driving a mile up the road and popping in Aldi for some milk and veg it was dumping again.. ??!??
    invoice.jpg
     
  20. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    changed the brake vacuum pipe that runs of the inlet mainfold to the brake servo and it still says -14 but on the plus my brakes are better.
     
  21. phil miller

    phil miller Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    115
    Ron's sits at 22 inhg at idle, if i coast/or on over run it goes to around 28inhg, no leaks here :) (there better not be any lol)
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    right i changed the forge split r dump valve and put a standard one in and now! i get -21 vac at idle :) so problem sorted thanks all
     
  24. phil miller

    phil miller Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    115
    update now mine is at 25inhg, so im sure i dont have a leak now :)
     
  25. scotty_24

    scotty_24 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    118
    I'm at -7 bar at idle is this ok?
     
  26. darren t

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have noticed a change in my vacume response ie when you dip clutch how quickly does your idle vacume change mine takes a while too settle if you understand ie it used too go straight up too-0.7 now it struggles any ideas throttle body cleaned??
    no leaks ect.....
     
  27. Kodak

    Kodak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    hmm ive not had that problem it returns very fast i do however have a problem of over revving when i dip the clutch sometimes anyone seen this its a APY block
    also like to add that is mine is sitting at -24 now since i deleted one of the bends in the vacuum lines so very happy now.
     

Share This Page