1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multi function steering wheel

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Boon, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    46
    Would anyone know if a direct replacement, what extra parts need to replace my wheel

    my current p/n 8P0 419 091

    change to 8T0 419 091

    I have vag-com to enable the multifunction but will it require any wireing or modules?

    thanks
    #1
  2. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    What year car do you have and what is the part number of the steering ecu. ?
    #2
  3. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    46
    A3 sportback 2.0TDI 54 plate

    Steering wheel controller 1K0 593 549 A
    Current soft coding 0000012

    Thanks
    #3
  4. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    You need a Highline DIS ( split into 3 sections ), a steering controller 8P0 953 549 F and slip ring suffix 'D'. for the mfsw to work.

    You will also need to ensure that your existing airbag fits the new wheel and that your car is already fitted with a two stage airbag system.
    #4
  5. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    46
    Bugger! Might have to rethink that then

    thanks anyway
    #5
  6. MarioS3
    Offline

    MarioS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,
    I dont want to start another MFSW thread.

    My car is 2008 S3 Sportback facelift car and i had S3 steering wheel no multifunction. I wanted to have RS steering wheel so i bought new one with 8J0 419 091 code - pls see picture. I also bought used airbag but i dont have part# - the guy asked me for my steering wheel picture and number and he said this airbag should be good.

    From what i've read i need 8P0971589Q cabling to connect steering wheel and airbag and then i need 1K0959653D clockspring and also new module 8P0 953 549 F, as according to VAG software i have 1k0 953 549 AH.

    Can you please confirm that i need to purchase all 3 above items to get it working for my S3?

    Currently i lost steering assistant and driving is very difficult and ESP airbag faults.

    Much appreciated for your help!!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #6
  7. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    You will need the cable you mention although the part # with suffix 'Q' may now be superseded. Audi will give you the correct one for mfsw.

    You will need the steering module you mention --- 8P0 suffix 'F

    I think you will already have the correct slip ring (suffix D) because that was usually fitted with the steering module that you already have.

    After installation you will need to carry out steering basic settings and code the wheel with VCDS to get steering assist back and then all lights will extinguish.

    Just be sure that the 'used' airbag has not been deployed and is still intact. If you paid less than about £150 - £200 for it then it is likely to be 'dodgy'.
    #7
  8. MarioS3
    Offline

    MarioS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mike,

    Airbag is intact and was never fired up - im pretty sure it works correctly,just hope it will work with all electronics. Unfortuantely my steering sensor might been damaged as i havent replaced it or secured it after i changed the steering wheel. We also tried diagnostics with VCDS and when i moved the steering right / left the sensor didnt show any movement and that might be the cause why i lost steering assistant. I guess i'll get all three items and i should be able to conenct everything and get everything working.

    Is there a chance that my steering angle sensor is still working or its already damaged?


    thanks!
    #8
  9. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    Hi fella, I have a steering angle sensor if interested. Can sell for £15 posted.

    PM me if interested. I also have a slip ring available.
    #9
  10. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    It's unlikely to be damaged. The slip ring and steering angle sensor are in the same unit but you need to carry out the basic settings with VCDS to get it to work.

    check the RossTech site for instructions.
    #10
  11. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    If you can post a copy if your scan, then we can see the fault codes and point you in the right direction.
    It is most likely what Mike has said, and probably needs basic settings and adaptation preformed.
    #11
  12. MarioS3
    Offline

    MarioS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    My logs below:



    oraz


    #12
  13. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    On this subject, mines has a mode button and a button with arrow pointing left, when I push either it says...no function

    What are these for?
    #13
  14. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    The arrow button only works with Audi Bluetooth phone connection installed. The mode button only works with RNSE installed as far as I know !
    #14
  15. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mines an 08 so guessing it doesnt have that then, are those boxes plug and play?!
    #15
  16. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    Not without additional wiring and coding. If you don't have double din radio then all sorts of additional bits are needed as well !
    #16
  17. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    Mario, silly question but have you tried to clear these faults?

    Anyhow, if you check all the links i have provided from Ross Tech, they give possible causes and solutions to your fault codes.

    Address 03: ABS Brakes
    Fault code 01826 01826 - Ross-Tech Wiki
    Fault code 01314 01314 - Ross-Tech Wiki
    Fault code 00778 00778 - Ross-Tech Wiki

    Address 44: Steering Assist
    Fault code 16353 Can't seem to find a fault code related to this on Ross Tech
    Fault code 00573 00573 - Ross-Tech Wiki
    Fault code 02391 Can't seem to find a fault code related to this on Ross Tech


    This is the best i could at the moment mate, see how you get on with the possible solutions in the links.
    #17
  18. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    You are half right Mike.
    The arrow button is used for voice control used with oem bluetooth and also SDS versions of the RNS-e.
    The Mode button is used to switch between your phone book and radio on you DIS, which works with RNS-e, Chorus, Symthony etc, but you still need to have the bluetooth installed for this to work.
    Without bluetooth, then these are just dead buttons.
    #18
  19. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    Thanks Danny - it's a long time since I researched the subject and, as I do not have rnse installed, the detail had faded somewhat !!!
    #19
  20. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    No problem Mike. But you more than make up for with all the time and effort you put into this site to help others. Your a credit to this site mate, and many will agree.
    #20
  21. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    46
    New wheel fits... Airbag fits new wheel, has two wires, so two stage I guess?!...

    how can I tell if I have a 'Highline' DIS?

    Then just need the module and slip ring..... Also a new cable to connect slip ring to the wheel controls/airbag?
    #21
  22. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    you already have the dual stage airbag system being a sportback.
    Also no need for a new slip ring as your current one will be fine. Yes, all you need now is the wiring loom, the correct steering module (8p0 953 549 F) and a bit of VCDS coding.

    Out of interest, have you physically checked the airbag fits? Because the part numbers you provided in your OP suggests that your current airbag will not fit the 8T0 wheel as they are different fitments.
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
    #22
  23. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    46
    Great, many thanks.

    I took a chance that even if it wouldn't work I'd have a new wheel to use or sell!

    Yes the airbag fits... New wheel and original airbag have been fitted to car for a few weeks now, just want the controls to light up and use the volume as the RNS-E volume knob needs a clean inside (volume often goes up when turning down!)

    On the lookout for a module now then :)
    #23
  24. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    46
    Would anyone know if steering control module 1K0 953 549 F will work or do I need 8P0 953 549 F?

    Is there any difference?
    #24
  25. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    #25
  26. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    MFSW only works with the 8P0 module!
    I may have one for sale.. just waiting to hear from the customer who wanted it... if he doesnt get back to me then its going to go back for sale
    #26
  27. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ok so

    Steering module 8P0 593 549 fitted and new harness 8P0 971 589 AD

    The buttons dont do what they are ment to... They light up... But...

    The left wheel when pressed in turns up the volume... The right wheel when pressed turns down the volume...

    The Mode & Voice buttons turn the tracks!

    Had noticed that the wires do not match up...

    Wheel end Pin 1 - Black, Pin 2 - Yellow, Pin 3 - Red
    Harness Pin 1 - Blue, Pin 2 - Red, Pin 3 - Black

    I tried repinning to match Black to Black, Red to Red & Blue to Yellow but nothing worked at all

    Is there a way to repin or recode something so they work as they should?
    #27

Share This Page