1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MRC Remap

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Quattro_Lew, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    On MRC's website it shows the remap for my TQ to bring out 225bhp and 230lb/ft, the torque i can believe but i cant see a remap being able to put the TQ into S3 territory, has anyone had a remap off these guys that can comment? or indeed anyone else that can comment?

    Cheers
    :blackrs4:
    #1
  2. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    that does seem a tad enthusiastic, maybe 210bhp i would of thought.
    Even if they can do it to 225, dont forget that this is only "standard" S3 territory !
    #2
  3. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    aye i know ;)

    ive seen a project car they have, the Golf Gti and they have tweaked it up to 227bhp with just a remap iirc, mad :wtf:

    ive emailed them enquiring
    #3
  4. l66hod
    Offline

    l66hod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi Quattro lew

    do you have a link for there site must be me but when i put MRC in google i get Medical Research Council ...LOL..
    #4
  5. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    #5
  6. l66hod
    Offline

    l66hod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for that..
    #6
  7. Secret Squirrel
    Offline

    Secret Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    MRC don't do enthusiastic figures, believe me.
    It will be around about 225bhp and 230lb/ft if they say it is.

    231bhp and 245lb/ft here, but that was with a custom map.
    A stock S3 225 doesn't stand a chance. BTDT :)
    #7
  8. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    ill have an S3 muncher muhahaha :)
    #8
  9. mintie
    Offline

    mintie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Until you meet an chipped S3 byeeeeeeeeee
    #9
  10. Secret Squirrel
    Offline

    Secret Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not happened yet. Most S3 drivers drive like old ladies. [​IMG] [​IMG]
    #10
  11. mad max
    Offline

    mad max sixth gear

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had my s3 remapped at mrc this year the perfomance now is absolutely awesome have bought a parachute to slow the flippin thing down.on a more serious note these guys know there stuff and are used all the time by the rs4 and s2 guys have a look here www.s2forum.com go through to forums and leave a message for doug rs2 he will be able to answer any questions you might have:thumbsup:
    #11
  12. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep, not doubting that, just didnt think it could be done, by any tuner, but it looks like it can be :)
    a 45bhp increase is pretty good tbh
    #12
  13. ChriS3
    Offline

    ChriS3 hud at ye bam

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    12

    That would be fighting talk? :p
    #13
  14. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would of thought 45bhp would be easily attainable with it only being a 25% power increase, i think ill have to get this bad boy remapped next month :D
    #14
  15. ANDYTQ
    Offline

    ANDYTQ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    23
    Sorry to burst your bubble but ajq models have a ko3 not ko3s type turbo so less power when remapped.I found out this when i swapped my turbo (actuator knackered)so i fitted a 052 (s)later type.Mine is ajq too.
    #15
  16. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    aye i was thinking about that last night, ive asked them what they can get out of the AJQ model.
    #16
  17. sanspeed
    Offline

    sanspeed Nastily Aspirated

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    mines at MRC at da mo' Picking it up 2morra hoping to get around the 340-350 mark:racer:
    #17
  18. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    ask doug what he can get out of the AJQ engine will you please :)
    #18
  19. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,972
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Sounds good, what car is it and what turbo have you gone for?, we also would like some pics of the beast. :)
    #19
  20. confusionhunter
    Offline

    confusionhunter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    might see you tomorrow sanspeed, Im getting the S4 remapped tomorrow...... hoping for 360....:eek:) (its not a std one)
    #20
  21. SyA3Turbo
    Offline

    SyA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you changed the Turbo or are you running 250bhp on the 03?
    #21
  22. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    andy's running the 03s atm
    #22
  23. SyA3Turbo
    Offline

    SyA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just spotted the thing under his name lol!
    #23
  24. Secret Squirrel
    Offline

    Secret Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny you should mention that. I was told this from a reliable source at the weekend. After I originally thought the car had a K03, but was told all 180 models have K03Sports, now I'm back to a having a K03.
    I think that's pretty much confirmed it, but I can see I'm going to have to dig the turbo out to check!
    I may have to go back and amend some posts I've made about my "K03S". [​IMG]

    I'm even more amazed at my own RR figures now!
    #24
  25. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    im confused... do all TQ's have K03s'?

    on turbo catalogues theres definately two different turbos for the Tq's
    #25
  26. Secret Squirrel
    Offline

    Secret Squirrel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    No! I was told this before I had my remap about 2 years ago. But it seems I was given false information.
    #26
  27. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh i see.

    ah well its all good anyway im on for the K04 upgrade :)
    #27
  28. SyA3Turbo
    Offline

    SyA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Secret Squirrel - what mods and power are you running?

    I'd say AndyTQ's info is probably right as mine is maxed about 220ish i reckon.

    I was always under the impression it ran 03s. Seems i was wrong too! :)
    #28
  29. theitalian3
    Offline

    theitalian3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    on the website it gives you the option of 8N or 8P models, do they not do 8L?
    #29
  30. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    think they did a typo lol just click the 8N mate
    #30
  31. theitalian3
    Offline

    theitalian3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    cool, definately getting this one then if its recommended
    #31
  32. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    worth noting our pre face lift cars wont be able to produce 225bhp after the remap, 210-215 is more probable
    #32
  33. mad max
    Offline

    mad max sixth gear

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    so 210 215 bhp is that with uprated turbo and remap
    #33
  34. Quattro_Lew
    Offline

    Quattro_Lew All Torque

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    no mate just a remap :)
    #34
  35. mad max
    Offline

    mad max sixth gear

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    might be worth you asking them if they can change the tip at the same time, as standard one gets sucked flat after a remap
    #35
  36. ANDYTQ
    Offline

    ANDYTQ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    23
    This is mainly a s3,225 tt problem,not a 150/180 problem.
    #36
  37. mad max
    Offline

    mad max sixth gear

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    i see you have replaced yours though,just a thought with the amount of mods you have done to your car surely it would have been easier to buy an
    s3
    #37
  38. sanspeed
    Offline

    sanspeed Nastily Aspirated

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Picked up my car on friday from mrc. very pleased! slight problem with the brakes though so havent been able to really push it. Manir at MRC said its probably the one way valve from the brake servo - when i go hard on the power then straight onto the brakes theres no pedal for about 2 seconds then the vacum must build up again and its fine. I think the new charge pipe is touching slightly on the standard strut brace. a few minor adjustments and it should be fine.From what i can feel already the car has been mapped very smoothly its a nice strong power progression, not so on/off anymore. It puts a big big smile on my face:arco: It is slightly too loud for my liking at the mo' since the fitting of the the new single sport cat set up.i'm gonna get the Milltek resonated centre section to replace my non resonated section. Hopefully that will suppress the sound to get that perfect sound. Although it does sound really really mean at the moment I dont think i would be a big hit with yhe neigbours! I will post pics soon and some figures when i get it dyno'd
    #38
  39. ANDYTQ
    Offline

    ANDYTQ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    23
    It was very cheap when i bought it,all parts have been sourced very cheaply and i also need a 5dr.It owes me a lot less than a s3 and is practical.
    #39
  40. SyA3Turbo
    Offline

    SyA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Andy, you got any graph plots with the O3s fitted?

    Also, how much of a job was it to swap? Is the turbo direct replacment?
    #40

Share This Page